Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:16 AM - 09.19.19

Jim's Mini-"Staycation"

(Had a nice surprise recently when talking to Jane R. - Thought I'd lost an entry I was working on, but turns out I just forgot I'd already completed and posted it...though when I say that now it seems less "nice surprise" and more "worrisome comment" on my failing memory. But anyway...)

This has been an interesting week...

As previously mentioned, due to the misfortunes of others I'm being paid "top of show" for episode #8, meaning they're paying me as if I am working all week long when I'm actually only working a couple days (I worked on Monday, and will be working again this coming Monday).

(I'm assuming "the misfortunes of others" is the reason for the happy situation I find myself in, because I can't think of any other reason; it happened once a few seasons ago and as I said then it's hard to imagine they're just throwing this money at me for my years of service. The most reasonable explanation is that, because of potential scheduling issues, they are paying me to be available on short notice.)

So since Shameless is paying for my availability, I have made myself available, taking off the past couple days from WW.

And it's been quite lovely.

Honestly, enjoyment of my "day job" has taken a nosedive in recent months - due primarily to a change in the hardware with which I do said job (It's actually slower and glitchier than what preceded it, which already wasn't great. But we're apparently stuck with this POS for at least the next year-and-a-half, and I hate it) - so my only regret is that I'm not making what I'm making this week all the time, so I could just quit this bitch.

(Late-Breaking News: Just got a package I've been waiting on from FedEx - A cheap, refurbished (so cheaper still) Acer Chromebook. I'm feeling some "buyer's remorse" because I already have the laptop I'm writing this on, and my reasons for buying this other thing are vague at best - something to do with having something cheap to just haul around, dedicated to breaking out when I'm away from home and want/need to "do work" or something. In any case, I guess it's a cheap way of testing how I feel about the benefits/limitations of a Chromebook, so...whatever.)

Anyway, I had both a concern and a fantasy about these past couple days.

The fantasy was that I'd take advantage of this work-week "vacation" and actually make it a vacation - Maybe catch some matinees, go to a museum or two, take myself out to breakfast/lunch whatever - but that largely hasn't happened.(Though I did enjoy doing a self-tape audition yesterday during the time I would have been working - more on that in a moment - and I do plan on going out tonight, either to try another dance class at Urban Dance LA, where I've been taking a "Popping" class for the past couple weeks, or to see Once Upon A Time...In Hollywood again, this time at the New Beverly).

The concern was that the extra time would "weigh heavy on my hands" - the big reason I thought about making special "vacation plans" in the first place - but it hasn't been the case; it seems, at least in the short term, that if I have a thing or two to do in a given day, that's all I need

(Running out of time - have a call scheduled with Mark and Jane Z. in mere moments...)

The self-tape audition I did yesterday annoyed me on one level - I don't like having to do my own auditions (That could be the stuff of an entire entry) - but it was actually enjoyable enough to do, and while it was a nothing bit, it was for a secret project that I wouldn't mind being a part of, even in a minimal-bordering-on-miniscule capacity.

Well, I could write more...but there's nothing really pressing left to impart (and there is the matter of a pressing deadline).

So, till next time...


 

previous - next

0 comments so far
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!