Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:17 pm - Sunday, Jul. 16, 2006
Hitting The Big Time

Hitting The Big Time

Sun 7/16/06 (2:45 p.m.)

Still happy and excited over booking the Gilmore Girls thing, as you might imagine...

Wardrobe called me on Friday, to get my sizes, and when I got home from work that night, the script was waiting at my door.

My part is �Customer #2", who starts to walk out of a diner without paying and, as a result of that action, has a brief exchange with �Luke�, the owner (So yes, I do have actual lines).

Unlike the House episode, where I played the one-line role of �Surgeon�, my scene this time is with one of the principals. So I�m hoping that means I�ll be less likely to be cut (I don�t know if there are any hard-and-fast rules about that, but it seems to make sense).

As I�ve been saying to people in emails, it�s been fun being a �star� in my little ACG/ArcLight circles since news has gotten around about my booking the gig.

I don�t think I realized till I left Lansing how much having some measure of �status� in the local theater community meant to me. I liked that people who cared about such things knew who I was and thought I was a good actor. And when I came out here, and nobody knew me, and could have cared less what I did back in Lansing, Michigan...well, that was tough.

So I�ve enjoyed people being excited about my success, being happy for me, and predicting bigger and better things in my future. I like when other people see me the way I want to see myself�as a successful actor.

There�s all kind of reasons to be happy about booking this job�Getting to act, getting paid, being on tv (I hope!), craft services, etc�but probably the most meaningful thing about it, in terms of my �career�, is the credit. I�ve heard from many different quarters that working leads to more working, and more auditions coming your way.

And getting more auditions is very important to me right now. I�m thrilled that I booked this �Gilmore Girls� job�I can hardly communicate just how thrilled I am�and I plan on having a great day on Friday, but booking one co-star gig a year is not enough; I need more money, and I need more credits on the resume, so I can start vying for guest-star roles, and maybe use my success as leverage in getting a theatrical agent.

I may be getting �a little ahead of myself� here�It�s only my second co-star role, after all�but I am feeling very encouraged right now, and it doesn�t seem unreasonable to imagine that more successes are in my future.

But right now, Mr �Big Time Actor� here is going to take a nap...

 

previous - next

4 comments so far
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!