Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:55 am - Tues 2/12/08
Stalking The Wild Dentist

Stalking The Wild Dentist

Got back from last night's "sleep study" about an hour ago...

It was, in short, a miserable night.

I'm not a sleep study virgin - this is my third one - but with the last one, they actually came to my apartment and hooked me up (Which I think makes a great deal of sense; if you're going to study the way I sleep, you should study me where I sleep), so it's been a dozen or more years since I had to go somewhere, sleep in a strange bed, be hooked up with sensors and electrodes and god knows what-all, be woken up when I do finally start sleeping (To have them put a CPAP mask on me, which makes sleeping that much more challenging), and then try to have anything even vaguely resembling a decent night's sleep.

I knew it wouldn't be a fun night, but it ended up being a way worse night than I'd anticipated.

I'm just hoping that this "way worse night than I'd anticipated" is going to lead to something I can live with.

Or to be more precise, something I can sleep with.

____________________

At last night's AT&T callback, at Envision in Santa Monica, there were 27 "dentist" wannabees, crowding a small, narrow lobby (Leading many actors to wonder aloud, sarcastically, "Who didn't get called back...?").

But since they're going to need a number of dentists, it would seem like my chances are better-than-average - Almost one-in-five.

When I first got the audition, I worried "With my teeth, who's going to believe I'm a dentist?".

But happily, no teeth-baring was required at the audition (Unlike the Orbit audition earlier in the day), and the callback was pretty much the same thing; they called us in five at a time, told us to assume a relaxed posture, then respond to a sudden noise by snapping to attention (eyes focused on a post-it on the far wall), then running off.

(This is apparently going to be a series of commercials, or at least two commercials; before the "dentists", there were a bunch of "plumbers" auditioning for another spot with the same basic idea.)

When my group of "dentists" was called in, the director had us do it a couple times (Directing me to "be more scared" the second time, which is what we were specifically directed not to do at the first audition), and that was that.

I was pleased - considering how many times they'd already seen actors doing the bit - that the decision-makers were laughing, and seemed genuinely amused when we were done.

But nothing happened during the course of the audition that made me think I had any more of a shot at booking the gig than anyone else - if I get it, it'll really just be "the luck of the draw".

So wish me luck on my "draw"...

____________________

Well, my desire to write more is warring with my desire to slip into unconsciousness (Did I mention I had a miserable night's sleep last night...?), and I think "unconsciousness" is going to win out.

I'm still feeling like there's stuff I want to "get to" in here that has definitely not been gotten to.

But it'll have to wait.

 

previous - next

0 comments so far
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!