Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:52 am - Thurs 11/10/05
I Am Not Kelsey-Fucking-Grammer

I Am NOT Kelsey-Fucking-Grammer

Weds 11/09/05 (11:03 p.m.)

This has officially been �A Good Day�...

First, at 10:30 this morning, I had a callback for Kellogs �Go Tarts� (Where I played part of a space shuttle launch team).

I�d had fun with the initial audition, but wasn�t as comfortable with the callback (At the first audition, they had me stationed behind a keyboard, and I enjoyed having �a real thing to do� while pretending to be �Space Shuttle Launch Guy�. But at the callback, I felt more awkward, because all I had was a blank screen to look at).

But comfortable or not, I guess things went all right, because I got the call this afternoon--I�m �on avail� (By now, we all know that doesn�t necessarily mean anything�Sometimes you book things you�re put �on avail� for and sometimes you don�t�but any time you�re getting callbacks and �avails�, you at least know you�re doing something right).

(Anyway, if I book it, it�ll shoot next week, sometime between Wednesday and Friday.)

This afternoon, I had an audition for Desani water, and I would love to get this one.

It�s part of this weird campaign�created by Wes Anderson, apparently--where they have an actor in an animal costume going on about the virtues of Desani (Like the one where a guy in a bear costume talks about how he prefers Desani to spring water, because after all, fish spawn in spring water, and that�s pretty gross). Weird, funny spots.

Anyway, I was auditioning to be a camel. And the idea of playing a camel in my first big �national� cracks me up (Besides which, it�s a one-person--or one-camel--spot, meaning I�d be �the star of the show�. And that always turns me on).

When I got there, and they called us in for an explanation, I was initially very disappointed when they did that �do it like so-and-so� thing I hate (The �so-and-so� in this case being Kelsey Grammer).

I know that�s just a lazy shorthand for the �attitude� they�re looking for, but all I can think of when they say something like that is, �I�m not Kelsey-Fucking-Grammer� (I was also annoyed because, unlike most commercial auditions I do, this one had �sides� that were available off of LA Casting�There was time to actually memorize the lines and prepare something. So since they had a very specific idea of what they wanted, it would have been nice if someone had shared it with me, since what I�d worked up was about 180-degrees from K.F.G.).

But I went back out in the lobby, and worked on the lines the way they wanted me to do them. And I tried not to channel K.F.G specifically., but to just think about being snobbish and superior, and when I went in, I felt like I did a pretty good job.

After a rehearsal, the casting guy had me do one take that way.

Then he said, �You know, I could see you doing a more �blue collar thing� too. Let�s give that a try, and give them something else to look at�.

That was fun, because that had been my original idea of how to do the spot when I got the sides off LA Casting (The other nice thing was that, for maybe the first time, I wasn�t thrown by having the lines on a big cue card in front of me, when I already had them memorized).

Anyway, I felt like it went well, and felt I�d been given about as good a chance to �shine� as was possible.

And it was just fun. I had fun �in the room�, and interestingly enough, �having fun in the room� made me feel more like a �professional� than I usually do.

But I�ve saved the most exciting thing for last...

While I was at the Desani audition, I got a voicemail from JS: I have an audition tomorrow for House (To play the small, co-star role of �Surgeon�. I think I literally may have one line, though it�s a good one).

It�s at the Fox studio, on Pico, at 11:00 a.m.

This is not the first tv show I�ve auditioned for (The first one�and the only one, up till now�was Strong Medicine, a couple years back), but it is the first one I�ve gotten as a result of the casting workshops I�ve been doing this year. And as I told Jane in an email earlier, �Whatever my financial circumstances, I obviously have to keep doing these things!��I�ve been jealous that other people have gotten calls while I�ve gotten nothing so far, so I�m tickled pink that my time has finally come.

And here�s a nice �capper�: I called the ArcLight earlier, to get a schedule for my upcoming training, and also to ask how I should handle the possibility of booking something that might shoot next week, during the aforementioned training.

I�d actually found myself thinking �Of course�Right as I�m about to start a new job, I�ll book gigs up the wazoo...�. Like it would be a terrible hardship to actually book a commercial or tv show right now.

But all they said was �If you have to skip a day of training, you can just pick up where you left off the following week�; training takes a week, they�re doing a lot of it right now, apparently, and they seem to have their system down pat.

So these people don�t even know me yet, and they�re willing to be flexible about my acting stuff (Makes me wish I�d applied at the ArcLight a year ago...).

Well, there�s more to write about�My future (Or lack of one) at Borders, my happiness at helping to defeat Schwartzenegger�s proposals on Tuesday, etc�but it's nothing that won�t keep...



 

previous - next

4 comments so far
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!