Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:48 pm - Tuesday, Aug. 01, 2006
The \"Hanging On\" Part

The "Hanging On" Part

Fri 7/28/06 (4:24 p.m.)

Saw two movies this past week....

I had been pretty leery of Clerks II when I first heard it was in the works. I just thought Clerks�which I loved-- was clearly a stand-alone movie, and a sequel just smelled of creative desperation on the part of Kevin Smith.

But then I read some good reviews of the movie, and I thought I�d give it a try.

(It�s not like I was gonna have to pay for it, after all...)

And my verdict?

meh.

Okay. So-so. Didn�t love it, didn�t hate it.

(And so on and so forth...)

I really liked Rosario Dawson though. And I also liked the ending, which seemed fitting and proper, and in its way, kind of touching. It left me feeling good about our two heroes and their future.

But I�m glad I didn�t pay for it.

_________________________

I don�t �review� or even just recommend movies as often as you�d think I would (Being a movie fan, and now working at a movie theater like I do).

I don�t know how to write reviews, for one thing, and fear I would embarrass myself trying. But the bigger issue is that I actually know a number of people who read this journal, and our tastes differ to the extent that telling certain of you to go see this or that movie �cause it�s really good� would be a waste of my time and your money, should you actually take my recommendation and see the movie in question.

But go see Little Miss Sunshine. Cause it�s really good.

�My favorite movie so far this year� good.

Mon 7/31/06 (2:01 p.m.)

Getting some �bidness� done.

First I emailed Tammy D., of the newly formed Actors Management Group (An offshoot group of Actors Co-op). She had emailed notes from the first meeting (I wasn�t able to attend, due to a previous engagement known as �work�), and I wanted to respond to them.

(Tammy then asked if she could forward my response on to the group. I said �forward away�.)

Then I called Paragon Photo Imaging, where they have a copy of my headshot on file, and ordered 100 new pictures, and 100 postcards (The postcards are for my first-ever, �Just wanted to let you know I booked a gig� mailing to all the casting directors who�ve seen me at ACG).

(When I last inquired about postcards, they had some crazy, 300 postcard minimum. But happily, they seem to have realized they were missing out on a lot of business from actors who didn�t need/couldn�t afford 300 postcards at a time, and have changed that policy.)

And now I�ve been trying to scan a decent copy of my resume to send to Brett and Molly at ACG, who have agreed to re-format it for me (It needs to be in columns, instead of centered, and I need to add the Gilmore Girls credit). But they couldn�t read the email attachment I sent, and it�s been so long since I�ve used my scanner, I seem to have forgotten how; the first scan looked like crap, and the second came out divided over four pages (Molly has said she�ll hand-type it for me if need be�and bragged she�s a much better typist than �two-fingers� Brett�but I�d prefer to make it easy on them, since they�re doing me a big favor and all).

(Cary has done this stuff for me in the past, but he doesn�t exactly have a lot of time on his hands for this crap, and I�d really like to minimize the burden I put on him, and by extension, our friendship.)

Ultimately, I ought to be able to do this stuff myself, but when I tried recently, it wasn�t long before bitter tears of frustration slid down my grizzled cheeks. Truthfully, it was pretty pathetic.

What I�d really like is for someone to come over and tutor me (You know, when I think about it, that�s pretty much what I�d like in general�someone to come over and tutor me in all the �being an adult� shit I should have learned 20 years ago. And help me clean and bug-proof my apartment. And then have sex with me, and maybe make me a sandwich. But anyway...).

Tues 8/1/06 (1:35 p.m.)

Had a meeting with JS (my commercial agent) earlier today, at my instigation.

In a word, this year has sucked for me commercially. I�ve not gone out as much as in years past, and when I have, I haven�t booked (I�ve had a hard time even getting callbacks). So I wanted to check in with JS, and...well, I don�t know what�See if there�s something specifically going wrong, see if there�s something I can do if something is going wrong, make sure he still sees me as being viable, that he still has faith in me, etc.

We didn�t talk long�about 20 minutes�but the long and short of it was �it�s a quirky business�. You go out a lot, then you don�t, you book, then you can�t get arrested, etc and so forth (The industry itself also goes through cycles and slow-downs and such).

He doesn�t think my current commercial slump is a question of my �doing something wrong�, and he seems to be pretty positive about my prospects. I just basically have to �tough it out� (my phrase, not JS�s).

I feel like as long as JS still has faith in me and my prospects, I can hang on awhile longer, and wait for things to pick up again.

(Even though my confidence has been shaken by how things have gone so far this year, I still believe there are things out there for me to do; I�ve booked before, and it seems reasonable to believe I will book again. And since commercials are how most actors make most of their money, I am nowhere near ready to write them off.)

JS had a lot of very positive things to say�and I don�t think he was just bs-ing me--but the thing that made me light up inside was something he said kind of off-handedly; he asked how the Gilmore Girls thing had gone, and as I started to tell him, he said �They really like you over there� (Referring to the casting people).

Things will pick up. I feel sometimes like it�s moving at a glacial pace, and the constant money stress makes it seem constantly like life-or-death, but I do believe that if I can just hang on, some nice things are going to happen.

It�s the �just hanging on� part that I�m wrestling with right now...


 

previous - next

1 comments so far
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!