Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:13 pm - Sun 12/30/01
Meeting Lauren
Saturday 12/29/01

12:43 pm

Lauren, my online friend and fellow Diarylander, is due to arrive at my doorstep in about fifteen minutes ( She lives in Seattle, but is visiting family here in LA ).

We're both a little anxious about this meeting--It's an odd thing, to have shared so much online, but to have not actually MET ( And we both have "issues" about our appearance; She's heavy, and I'm...well, I'm ME )--but I think we'll be fine. I'm just trying to look at it as having a nice day with a new "old friend".

My last entry felt kind of rushed, and I didn't get to some fun news--My Xmas package from Mark and Jane arrived ( I think they said Kevin participated in it as well ). It arrived the day after Xmas, but I wasn't able to get it from the office till the next morning.

It was a grab-bag of goodies--homemade peanut brittle and fudge, one of those plastic "one cup" coffee dealies with coffee included ( It's like a funnel--You pour the water in the top, it filters through a little chamber where you've put the coffee, and voila! A hot and tasty beverage results ), some issues of "The Sun" ( With a note saying a subscription is on the way ), an assortment of nuts ( Jane thinks I need more protein and fewer carbs ), a box of brownie mix ( From Marilyn S. ), and a black t-shirt, which says, "I am here to BE here and to share my gifts". Under that are the "comedy" and "tragedy" theater masks, then my new mantra "I am enough. I have enough. There is enough ( lather, rinse, repeat )".

Jane also enclosed her annual family Xmas letter, and I was pleased that my bon voyage party was mentioned ( I don't think I've ever been in anyone's family Xmas letter before ).

Well, I'd better cut this short. Lauren is overdue, so I think I'd better start standing watch by the door outside. See ya later...

(END)

Two odd fears I have:

1. That someone is going to throw something through my apartment window.

2. That I'm going to go in to work one day, and find out Julia Roberts just left the moment before.

*************************************************

The day with Lauren didn't work out quite like we'd planned--Lauren had wanted to show me some of LA that I hadn't gotten around to seeing yet, like the beach. However, rain made that...problematic--but I thought the day worked out pretty well, nevertheless.

I had intended to clean before we got together, but I didn't manage to get around to it. But she didn't seem too horrified by what she saw; on the contrary, she liked the space, and commented on how cool the neighborhood was, something I've never really given much thought to (I only recall initally thinking that the neighborhood "seemed nice enough" and didn't actively SCARE me, like Chris's neighborhood on West and Pico).

She came bearing gifts; A homemade, hanging candle holder, along with a nice card.

We had decided the day before that if it was raining on Saturday, we'd plan on seeing "Lord of the Rings", so that's what we ended up doing (After fighting a nutty amount of Saturday afternoon traffic around the Beverly Center).

We both really enjoyed the movie (I think Lauren liked it even more than I did). It looked wonderful, was perfectly cast, and I was struck by how emotionally invested I was in the story, unlike MOST "event movies" of recent years.

(I'll probably have more to say on "Lord of the Rings" in another entry.)

After the movie, we at the the Grand Lux Cafe. Like The Mustache Cafe, it was a step up from the fast food I normally eat when I "go out".

(Lauren sprang for everything, by the way. I felt moderately guilty about that, but seeing as how I'm really POOR, I got over it as quickly as I could, and was just grateful for her largesse.)

Well, I'm up TOO late, so I'm going to have to finish the "Lauren Saga" at a later time...

 

previous - next

0 comments so far
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!