Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:12 pm - Sun 8/21/05
\"Dancing Cheek To Cheek\" (With My Neurosis)

"Dancing Cheek To Cheek" (With My Neurosis)

(Hey, I wanted to say thanks to everyone who commented and emailed regarding my last entry. I appreciated the feedback.)

Tues 8/16/05 (8:48 a.m.)

Barring unforeseen circumstances, looks like I�ll be picking up my new cat a week from this coming Sunday.

I think it�ll be nice to have a little extra life in the apartment.

____________________

JS called me about an audition yesterday.

I was happy to get the call, as always, happy enough that it was hours before I realized I probably can�t go�It�s for a buffet-style restaurant chain called Golden Corral (I�ve never heard of it), which I�m assuming would be a conflict with Jack-In-The-Box.

Sat 8/20/05 (3:10 p.m.)

Just got back from my second casting director �workshop� of the day (This one was with Celia Joseph at CBS; the earlier one was with Bridgette White w/Monica Swann Casting, who have done Veronica Mars and Smallville, amongst other things).

I�ve got to go off to work in a few minutes, which is the one thing that�s gonna keep this from being a near-perfect day. Otherwise, I�d be taking a nap right now, then maybe catching a late matinee somewhere...but perhaps best not to dream of things that cannot be, and instead appreciate the half �near-perfect day� I did have...

Sun 8/21/05 (1:25 p.m.)

As I begin, I�m watching The Barkleys Of Broadway, the last--and probably least--of five movies in the new Astaire and Rogers Collection (Vol I).

(For the record , the other movies in the set are Top Hat, Follow The Fleet, Swing Time, and Shall We Dance?.)

I worked in the Multimedia section all day yesterday, and in the evening, an older couple came in looking for the box set in question (We didn�t have it--We only received three, for some reason, and I bought one of them�but we have five more on order).

The woman said she likes to watch Fred Astaire movies when she�s �not feeling well�, and it struck me�That�s exactly why I bought the set (Even though I felt a guilty pang about it�With my book credit and the 20% discount, I still ended up spending over $25 for it, which is $25 I don�t have).

I�ve been in rough shape for awhile now, feeling a vise of anxiety and stress squeezing the life out of me�The commercial thing�s not happening the way I want it to, I�m not making enough at the bookstore, I�m not pushing the Notary stuff the way I need to, I�m feeling like I�ve lost a step or two physically (A point of growing concern, though I still haven�t managed to be concerned enough to get to a doctor), and all this is happening while the only thing I really want to do with myself (The only thing I want to do with myself that I can do in public anyways) continues to elude me.

So Jimmy needed some �escapism�...

But more on �Fred & Ginger� (And �Jim & His Emotional Problems�) later. Right now, I�m going to see if I can�t �escape to Dreamland�...


 

previous - next

0 comments so far
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!