Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:52 PM - SAT 06.03.23
-

Robbing Peter To Pay Paul

Well, this feels like a wasted day (Granted, I didn't have a lot planned. But the one or two things I even thought about doing seemed like too much to manage).

Anyway...

Remember when I said, "Just because you feel like you killed it at an audition doesn't mean you're going to book the gig?", how I've felt like I had a great first audition and then not even gotten the callback?

Well, I hate to say, "I told you so" - I seriously do - but I told you so.

The callbacks were supposed to be yesterday or today.

But whenever they were, I was not invited.

So I assume that's that...though I am still wondering about that extra camera and the two extra people in the room - Those are more "extras" than are typically involved in a first audition.

Anyway...

I wish I could say that's been the only unhappy note of the past couple days...but it's not.

Just six weeks after his father died, Cary texted me yesterday morning to tell me his mother is now gone as well (As I wrote in a recent entry, it had seemed like she was going to go first, until his Dad's health, which wasn't great, took a steep turn for the worse).

Intellectually, I know this is "normal" - there's not much in this world more normal than people getting old and dying - but it feels so strange, to think that they aren't here anymore, that they don't exist anymore.

And for Cary, it doesn't seem like you should have to deal with losing both parents in such quick succession. It doesn't feel right.

But here we are - In a world where normal things happen that nevertheless just don't seem right.

Another bit of unhappy morning news - A recent email from the head of BBA, my theatrical agency:

As you may or may not have heard, SAGAFTRA is asking union talent to not work with us. We are working on solving this issue, and ask for your patience as we take next steps. We are continuing to submit you, book you, and have you get paid directly for your work during this time. We hope you will continue to allow us to work on your behalf. We will keep you apprised of any changes that will affect you. Thank you.

Well that doesn't sound problematic at all, does it?

Since that message didn't seem very informative, I went to the SAG-AFTRA website to read the official notice:

All SAG-AFTRA members who are currently represented by, or have previously been affiliated with, BBA Talent, Inc.

Please note, BBA Talent Inc.’s franchise in the Los Angeles Local was deemed surrendered on June 1st, 2023 under the AFTRA Agency Regulations Rule 12-C.

The effect of the surrender is as follows:

No member of SAG-AFTRA may hereafter engage, use, or deal through this agency.
All SAG-AFTRA agency contracts in force between this agency and the members of SAG-AFTRA are ipso facto and without further notice terminated except that the agency may retain and collect any commissions earned under said contracts prior to the surrender of franchise.
Members shall not be under any obligation to pay commissions to the agent on any money earned by members after the termination of SAG-AFTRA agency contracts, even though such monies are earned by members on employment contracts in existence at the date of termination of the agency contracts.
If any member has signed a non-conforming agency agreement with this agency (i.e. an agency contract not approved by SAG-AFTRA), we strongly advise you to consult with independent legal counsel to determine your rights and obligations thereunder. Please note: SAG-AFTRA does not recognize any non-conforming contract as valid.

No SAG-AFTRA member may sign any new agency contract with this agency as of the date of this notice.

Please note that any TV/TH check authorizations on file with SAG-AFTRA are automatically terminated as of the date of this notice. However, performers wanting to terminate commercial check authorizations will have to act in order to do so by directly contacting your employer/paymaster. Commercial residuals are not processed through SAG-AFTRA.

Please do not hesitate to contact the SAG-AFTRA Professional Representatives Department if you have any outstanding questions. Thank you.

(Actually, that was not the notice I first read when I went to the website - That message was more to the tune of "If you're with, or have been with, BBA, check your financial records to see if anything's amiss because there have been some complaints".)

The new message makes it pretty clear - I don't have theatrical representation anymore.

Which was the impression I got after calling SAG for more details - Apparently, there'd been some major financial chicanery regarding actors not getting the money they were due from the agency (Fortunately in my case, my checks have been coming directly to me for years, so at least they don't have any of my money I'll now have to fight to get back).

The SAG guy told me this was usually a case of "robbing Peter to pay Paul", and that the agency currently owes more than they are bonded for (Which is why the union has officially rescinded their working relationship. Meaning I can't work with them either, even if I still wanted to, until and unless they make good on what they owe. And Sag Guy told me that doesn't typically happen).

This seems very not-good.

But in the gloom, there are a few sort-of "bright notes"...

At least I wasn't with them across-the-board, so I still have my commercial agent.

And with the Writers Strike - and likely a SAG-AFTRA strike right behind it - at this point, it's not like I'm going to lose a bunch of auditions/work because I'm not represented.

And thanks to an assist from a friend, I may be able to submit myself for projects, until I land with my new agent/agency.

And Kimberly, Jane's producing partner on Acting Like Nothing Is Wrong seems up for the challenge of helping me get new representation.

So while this may be "very not-good", it could be very much worse.

So...Yay?

(Till next time)



0 comments

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!