Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:19 am - Sat 8/6/05
Jim Takes A Roommate

Jim Takes A Roommate

Well, I guess the top story this hour is that I have a cat.

Or I will have a cat, anyway; Right after my last entry, I checked my email, and there was something from David, "Kipper's" owner--The other person who was in the running had flaked out, so he congratulated me, and said he'd be in touch (Actually, three people responded to his ad initially. I was just the last one standing).

As I told Kathy B. in an email earlier today, I feel a bit defensive when I write about this in here, as if you're all wondering just what the hell I think I'm doing--"Aren't you the guy always crying about how poor you are, Jim?"--but I know that's really me being defensive with myself.

And that being the case, here's my argument on my own behalf: I'm making, I believe, the more positive choice. Instead of saying I'm too "poor" to take care of a cat, or that I'm somehow "emotionally deficient" or what-have-you, I'm electing to believe it can't be wrong to want to love something, to take care of something, to have a little furry companionship in my life.

Anyway...

Right on the heels of my saying that "Agent Nights" kind of suck, and I'm going to stick with casting director "workshops", on Thursday I had a "workshop" that was really disappointing.

It was nothing terrible, really. The CD--Trish Debski--was nice, and I did fine with the scene, but the scene itself was kind of lame; I felt cheated, frankly, because most of the other scenes were more dramatic, or funny, or...well, just more, if you know what I mean.

It made me realize once again that I am very competitive about this stuff. I don't want to just "do well"; I want the "A+", the "gold star". I want the casting director to say "Jim, where have you been all my life...?" (In a strictly professional sense, of course).

And on Thursday, I was not that guy, not because I didn't do well, but because I just didn't have much to work with.

Hopefully, the one today will be better (To add insult to injury, I took the Metro there on Thursday, and when it was over, I went back to the station...only to see it was blocked off because of a bomb scare. I was able to take a bus as far as Hollywood and Vine, but had to walk all the way home from there, which could be a D-land entry all by itself).

Speaking of which...There's more to write about--Didn't even get into the Signing Agency stuff--but I've got to hit the road. I've got a "workshop" in less than an hour.

See ya...

 

previous - next

1 comments so far
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!