Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:56 PM - Tues 12.30.14
Scraps

Scraps

With the new year, I'm feeling the urge to "clear things off my desk".

The items below are things I wrote down on post-its, the backs of envelopes, etc, intending to get them into a journal entry "sometime".

"Now" is that time.

(For those of you who are interested, I'll be "Year in Review"-ing very soon...)

____________________

"Things Other People Do That Bother Me Because It Bothers Me When I Do Them"

1. Telling their "sob story" to anyone who'll listen.

2. Being "on".

3. Acting helpless.

4. Being overly angry/hard on themselves.

5. Wanting to put their decisions on me ("What do you think I should do?").

6. Being negative about some plan or desire they have ("It's probably really stupid, but this is what I want to do...")

___________________

People really resist change, even if or when what they're doing is dysfunctional/maladaptive.

Ex. Constantly checking my email even when I know nothing of interest will be there (I'm talking specifically about auditions here, though I also check, often late in the evening, when I'm just lonely and want to be "communicated with", which always makes things worse).

____________________

Occasionally, the people I weigh in at WW are...smelly.
Rule of thumb: If you're not an actual homeless person, you should't smell like one.

____________________

I think some Christians hate other people because of "Original Sin"- They can't really do the "Love the sinner, hate the sin" thing they're supposed to do, they just end up "Hating the sinner".
___________________

Why doesn't Atheism have "the upper hand" over religion? Because it doesn't comfort.
____________________

Why don't we see more "butch" lesbians having sex on tv?

The same reason there aren't more people who look like me having sex on tv - The majority of people just wouldn't want to see it.

____________________

Realizing that I have something of an "addictive personality" - I can't get drunk enough, high enough, full enough, anything enough. There's just an emptiness that can never be filled.

I am a "hungry ghost".

____________________

Watched a documentary on Harry Dean Stanton.

The three reasons he doesn't care for acting on the stage?

1. Too much work.
2. Takes too long.
3. Doesn't pay enough.

____________________

Watched a video where a grandmother was getting what - she thought - was an IPhone, and was not happy about it.

As she opens the package, she says, "The problem is really that I am not equipped to handle this", and when she said that, it instantly struck me, "That's how I feel about almost everything".

(The "phone" turned out to be made of chocolate - her grand-kids were "pranking" her - and she was delighted...and relieved.)


 

previous - next

0 comments so far
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!