Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:34 am - Thurs 2/9/06
Bankers In Speedos

Bankers In Speedos

Mon 2/6/05 (2:15 a.m.)

Closed tonite at the theater.

I was only scheduled to close two nights this week, but I took Matt�s closing usher shift on Tuesday, and Antonia�s on Saturday. (I would have switched with Scott B. on Friday�also a closing usher shift, but that would have meant hanging out at the theater for two hours with nothing to do--I was off at 9:00 that night, and he wanted to work at least till 11:00).

You�re no doubt thinking, �Who cares?�, but it�s a pretty big deal to me, because I�m really not �Volunteering To Stay Late� Guy.

But I want this job to work out. I actually don�t know if it�s financially possible, with the wage they pay, for this job to pay the bills, even if I can get a full-time complement of hours. But I have to do what I can to squeeze it for all I can get.

Tues 2/7/06 (4:22 p.m.)

Well, here�s some pretty big news: Jane�s daughter Emily had her baby, at 2:01 this morning.

Have I even mentioned in here that Jane has a daughter Emily, and that Emily�s been pregnant these past nine months?

Well, in any case, she does, and she has been, and now there�s a giant baby boy (9 lbs, 8 ozs) named Anderson Chad Stevens in the world.

(I know�It would sound better if it were �Chad Anderson Stevens�, wouldn�t it? But Dad�s named �Chad�, and I guess they didn�t want a �Junior�)

Jane was already a �Grandma� of sorts�Mark�s adult children have children�but I imagine there�s a world of difference between that, and one of your own babies having a baby.

Anyway, congratulations everyone. It couldn�t happen to a nicer family.

Welcome to the world, �A.C.�.

(If/when I can figure out how to get the picture Jane emailed me from �here� to �there�, I�ll put it up for your perusal.)

Weds 2/8/06 (5:45 pm)

Well, it�s been �Audition-O-Rama� today: Not one, not two, but three commercial auditions (Just got back from my third, for some sort of stop-smoking product, about a half-hour ago).

(My �capsule review� of how they went? I think the first, for Home Depot, and the one I just mentioned, are �possibles�; I�d be kind of surprised if I didn�t get callbacks for one or both of those. The one in the middle, on the other hand, for Cingular...well, I feel pretty doubtful about that one.)

Add the three today to the two I had on Monday�for Mazda and Nestle--and I�ve gotten more commercial audition action this week than I do most months.

(But wait! There�s more...)

While I was waiting to go in for my last audition today, I got a call from Anne (At JS Represents) on my cell�She told me I had a callback tomorrow for Washington Mutual.

(I went in to be a �Banker�, one of four old-school banking fat cats Washington Mutual keeps penned up; basically, when they want to test out a �radical� idea�like �free checking�, for example--they float it by us, and if we don�t like it, they know they�re onto something.)

It�s my first callback of the new year, which is nice, but something Anne said vaults this particular callback way beyond the realm of �nice�: She told me this is not for one commercial, but a series of commercials.

Let me say that again�This callback is for a series of commercials.

A series.

As in �more than one commercial�.

(I didn�t know this when I went in for the initial audition.)

To quote Anne, �If you get this, you won�t have to worry about anything for quite awhile...�.

And I gotta tell ya, that is one appealing notion. A very appealing notion. I can�t tell you how much I�d like to �not have to worry about anything for quite awhile�.

But it�s not true, strictly speaking (That if I book this gig I won�t have anything to worry about): One thing they�ll be asking tomorrow is if we�d be willing to wear a Speedo in one of the spots.

This worries me.

I�m not sure I�m ready for that (I�m not sure America is ready for that).

I�ve actually joked about just this kind of scenario, a nightmarish vision of the kind of thing I might have to do someday as an actor.

But what am I gonna say? �Well, even though this could be the financial springboard I�ve been dreaming of since moving to L.A.--and maybe a major career boost as well--I�m just too ashamed of my body, so I�m gonna have to say �no� on the Speedo�?

I can�t do that.

So tomorrow, when I�m at the audition, and they say, �If we book you, would you be willing to wear a Speedo in one of the spots?�, I�m going to say �Just try and stop me!�.

Cause I�m not in "the dignity business� here.


 

previous - next

5 comments so far
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!