Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:32 pm - Weds 10.29.2008
Weight Watchers - Maintenance (Wk 2)
Weds 10/29/08 (12:38 p.m.)

Weight Watchers - Maintenance (Wk 2)

As of my Sunday weigh-in, I�m two weeks into �Maintenance� (Meaning I�ve reached my Weight Watchers �goal weight� of 195 lbs, and in order to become �Lifetime�, have to stay within two lbs of that weight for six weeks; staying within two lbs of my goal weight is also a condition of my continuing employment at Weight Watchers).

According to the �Maintenance� materials, if I want to �maintain� my weight at 195 lbs, I�m supposed to now add three points to my daily point total (Which would mean going from 31 pts to 34 pts). But if I want to continue to lose - And I�ve been thinking I�d like to lose maybe another five lbs - I just stay at 31 pts).

(Then, depending on your weigh-in results, you adjust accordingly; as a number of WW people have told me, �Maintenance� can be tricky.)

I was a little indecisive the first week, basically �splitting the difference� (I did a day or two at 34 pts, then went back to 31)...and I gained .6 lbs, which put me at 194.8 lbs

This week, I stuck with 31 daily pts (Using my full 35 weekly pts)...and had another little gain - .2 lbs - putting me at 195 lbs exactly.

I�m not devastated by my results (a .8 lb gain over two weeks is not exactly �pulling the ripcord�)...but I am a little discouraged - I�d have to �check the records� to be sure, and I�m too lazy to bother, but I don�t think I�ve gained for two weeks running since I started WW.

So I�ve been reflecting on the past couple weeks, to see where I�m ever-so-slightly �falling down on the job�.

I think maybe, in spite of myself, I�ve relaxed a bit upon making my goal weight - my diet has become a bit too PBJ-centric, I�m letting things �slip by� without tracking them, my water consumption and fruit-and-veggie eating has fallen off, etc - and as a result, I�m kinda/sorta �maintaining� when I should be losing still.

I�m concerned, in general, that my eating habits, which I�ve clearly changed over the past year - or else I wouldn�t have lost all this weight - haven�t changed enough.

But at least I impose limits on my bad impulses now - I don�t indulge, then indulge some more, then indulge some more after that.

I still eat a lot, but I don�t eat constantly (I�m not eating now, for example).

I�m still pre-disposed toward �junk food�, but at least now it�s lower-calorie, lower-fat, �Not really good for you, but not that bad for you either� stuff (And even on a �bad day�, I�m still getting in three or four servings of fruits and vegetables, and a couple glasses of water).

Then there�s exercise.

When I started out with WW last year, I also signed up at 24 Hour Fitness, and had a trainer (Back when I was feeling �flush� because of all that sweet, sweet commercial money that was coming in).

The trainer didn�t work me very hard, but at least it was me getting to the gym a couple times a week (And I liked going, because Jennifer - my trainer - was pretty cute).


Then the money well started running dry, and I dropped the trainer.

Over time, my visits to the gym dwindled, and I dropped the gym membership (I knew I would struggle with motivation on my own, but there was nothing else I could do).

Anyway, now I walk, and ride my bike, and so far, it�s served me pretty well. Though I worry about what I�m going to do when I start working a zillion WW meetings a week and/or things heat-up on the acting front, and I don�t have time to bike everywhere, or am just too pooped to walk 60-90 minutes in the evening (The generous amount of leisure I�ve had since May has been why I�ve had the time and energy to walk/bike as much as I have).

Long story short - if that ship hasn�t sailed by now - I�m doing well (As I�ve said before, I probably haven�t weighed under 200 lbs since I was in my 20s) - but am nursing some underlying anxiety about my ability to �keep it up�.

Which maybe is good; better that I worry about �keeping it up� (And �keeping it off�) than to think �Hey, I�ve hit my goal weight, now I can go nuts...!�.

I want this to stick - I don�t want to be a 300-lb tub of goo a couple years down the road, wondering �What the hell happened?�.

And that's not going to happen.

Because I�m going to make sure it doesn�t.

 

previous - next

0 comments so far
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!