Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:31 am - Mon 5/29/06
The Wisdom Of Coffee Cups, Refrigerator Magnets, And Greeting Cards

The Wisdom Of Coffee Cups, Refrigerator Magnets, And Greeting Cards

Mon 5/29/06 (2:13 a.m.)

Another bad effect of drinking�You�re much more likely to leave your �pocket journal� in your pocket while doing laundry.

Right now, I�m gingerly looking over my moistened book, seeing if there�s anything I want to pull out of it...

I see that the Fred Astaire quote I alluded to in my last entry was not from Kathyrn Grayson, but Kay Thompson. She referred to Astaire as �irritating...a most disconsolate person...he was just somebody who was frightened�.

I recently wrote down a number of quotes while working retail at the theater (Quotes that were on coffee cups, refrigerator magnets, and greeting cards).

Be the change you want to see in the world
-Gandhi-

I was thinking about that, and the first thing that popped into my head, when I wondered in what respect I was �the change I want to see in the world�, is that I�m a pretty nice guy. I have my off days, of course, but I really feel, by and large, that these days I leave good feelings behind me when I move about in the world.

At the center of your being, you have the answer; you know who you are, and you know what you want.

-Lao Tzu-

(Or to say it another way...)

Trust yourself. You know more than you think you do.

-Dr Spock-

I think the struggle involved in �trusting myself� is one of the central issues of my life. That, and getting what I �know�--which is considerable--from my head to my heart.

What lies behind us and what lies before us are small matters compared to what lies within us.

-Emerson-

The world is not respectable; it is mortal, tormented, confused, deluded forever; but it is shot through with beauty, with love, with glints of courage and laughter. And in these, the spirit blooms...

-Santayana-

The last quote reminds of something from Anthony Burgess that I have in another book, and am too lazy to find at this point. Something about the �real God� abandoning Earth, and a �fake God� taking over and mucking things up, but he essentially makes the same point�While the world is a mess, there remains much to take pleasure in.

And I agree.

I�ve always been touched by Marilyn Monroe, and this quote I saw in the newspaper goes a long way towards explaining why, in a nutshell:

I knew I belonged to the public and to the world, not because I was talented or even beautiful, but because I had never belonged to anything or anyone else.

I also thought she was really pretty.

With The DaVinci Code playing at the theater, we have Jesus and Leonardo �action figures� in the gift shop.

Men of lofty genius when they are doing the least work are most active.

(I wish I�d known that quote back when I was in school, so I could have whipped it on teachers while I was busily doing �the least work�...)

Iron rusts from disuse; water loses its purity from stagnation...even so does inaction sap the vigor of the mind.

-Leonardo DaVinci-

If the blind lead the blind, both shall fall into the ditch.

Ask, and it shall be given to you; Search, and you will find; Knock, and the door will be opened.

I�ve known that verse forever�I grew up going to Sunday school�but it never really meant much to me. Now I find myself thinking �I obviously need to step up the asking, searching, and knocking...!�

Do not worry about tomorrow...Today�s trouble is enough for today.

-Jesus Christ (From the book of Mathew)-

And of course, words of wisdom from one of our greatest modern-day thinkers, �Homer Simpson�...

Trying is the first step towards failure.

Well, I was going to get into the whole thing about me being �Wile E. Coyote, Super-Genius�, but it�s gotten late, and I�m tired, and kind of sick, so I�m going to bed...


 

previous - next

2 comments so far
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!