Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:06 pm - Sun 1/18/04
Keeping Up Appearances

Keeping Up Appearances

Once again, I'm dead on my feet with little time to write an actual entry, but feel compelled to write something, so here goes...

It's hard not to obsess over the call I'm hoping to get today, about a callback for the CBS promo spot.

It's an amusing spot, and as I told Mark Z. in an email earlier today, I think a memorably funny commercial would be just what the doctor ordered, in terms of generating some career momentum (And if it was a national that ran for six months or a year, all the better!).

I'm just guessing here, but I doubt I'm going to be asked to be a serious spokesperson for anything, or do a spot that tugs on the heartstrings. Never say never, of course, but those aren't the things I'm going in for, by and large. I think when I break through, it's probably going to be with something of a more humorous nature.

But anyway...

I don't know what the Hyundai spot is going to be, exactly, but at least I've decided what I'm going to wear; the closest thing I have to a uniform right now is the black Borders polo shirt I have from when I was in "loss prevention", so I'm going to wear that with my black jeans, and at least they'll know I understand what "monochrome" means (I was going to wear denim, but my denim shirt is lighter than any of the jeans I own).

I've been thinking a lot about "appearances" in the new year...

I got a haircut recently, and that led to a renewed question of "To dye or not to dye"?

Actually, it's not that much of a question, really--what was once "a touch of gray" is turning to "salt and pepper" in a hurry, and before you know it, it's going to be pretty much all "salt". And I'm not ready to only get calls for Metamucil and Depends--but I'm not comfortable with it personally.

(The short hair really makes the gray "pop", unfortunately.)

I've done it a couple times already, but I have to keep it up if I'm going to do it.

And I'm thinking about the mustache again. It probably should go--I'd likely be more "castable" without it--but personally, I don't want to do it.

One thing I'm a little less ambivalent about is losing weight.

I'm at least a good thirty pounds overweight--actually, closer to forty--and that just doesn't make sense for me, neither as an actor or a person (I was a skinny guy the first half of my life, and I've never really adjusted to that no longer being the case).

So I bought a scale, and the first "weigh-in" last Wednesday was positive--I've lost five pounds since the last time I weighed myself (That was Xmas week, when I was dog-sitting at Brad W's).

I could probably live with something in the neighborhood of 210 lbs, but my real goal is to get under 200 lbs. It's been a very long time since I've seen what I look like at that weight (My lowest weight out here was 207 lbs, when I was stressed out and dealing with my mysterious bout of "morning sickness").

Well, it's time to get to work, and I didn't even get to Melanie Griffith's gum.

But next time...

 

previous - next

1 comments so far
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!