Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:12 pm - Monday, May. 28, 2007
Not A Pretty Blonde

Not A Pretty Blonde

Sun 5/27/07 (11:01 a.m.)

(Watching So You Think You Can Dance, that I recorded on Thursday...)

As an actor/performer, there�s an impulse that I have never understood�I don�t know why you would get up in front of people to do anything...and do it really badly (Unless, as an actor, you�re playing a character who�s a bad singer/dancer/actor/whatever). Short of wanting a brief career as a novelty act/national joke like William Hung, I just don�t get it. Never have, even as far back as The Gong Show.

(I have more to say on this subject, but I�ll save it for another time.)

(A quick aside�My Propel commercial has aired twice during the first hour of the show. It also ran during the recent season finale of Desperate Housewives. So �Yay!� for a continuing �income stream�...)

(1:50 p.m.)

With the play last Thursday, visiting Cary and Kay yesterday, having lunch with Bruce and Erin B. later today (They�re in town from Michigan till Tuesday), and doing karaoke with people from JS Represents on Wednesday, I�m experiencing a virtual whirlwind of social activity lately.

Having a social life is one of the things that�s come up in therapy; Javier asked me one week to list some things I�m passionate about, and my answers were 1) to find a way to actually act (ex. to do plays at night while I�m auditioning for other things during the day), 2) to further develop my talents, expand my interests, and become more �self-actualized� in general, and 3) to have a social life (One that includes general being out-and-about with other people, having male friends, and dating).

There are a lot of challenges involved in making those things happen�first and foremost, time (between working, auditioning, casting workshops, etc., when am I doing all this extra stuff?) and energy (I�m barely able to do what I�m doing some days, so how am I going to do more?)�but clearly these things are important, so I�m going to figure out how to make them happen (I imagine other things contribute to having a good life as well�having your health, for example, and feeling that you�re doing some good in the world�though when I think about it, those things could fall under �self-actualization�.

Mon 5/28/07 (12:00 p.m.)

Memorial Day...

I�m working today from 3:00-11:00, so once again, it�s another holiday that doesn�t mean much to me (If anything, holidays actually suck more than other days, since my jobs�at the bookstore before this, now at the movie theater�are �destination spots� for a lot of people with time on their hands. Not to mention that those are days I know there won�t be any checks in the mail, or calls about auditions or gigs. But anyway...

Speaking of gigs, my �Cold Stone Creamery� spot is now running, and I�m very happy with how it turned out.

If you want to check it out, it�s on their website (www.loveit-loveit.com). The spot is titled �heiress�, so just click on the picture of the pretty blonde, and there I�ll be (I�m not �the pretty blonde�; I�m more of a �character-y brunette�).

Have just been chatting with Jane (Have I mentioned I really like her...?). And now the time has come for me to slip into unconsciousness, before having to go off to work.

Nighty-night...


 

previous - next

2 comments so far
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!