Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:00 am - Wed 5/01/02
Jim is bustin out all over

Jim Is Bustin' Out All Over

When I got home from work last night, the checks from Mark and Jane were in the mail (Each check, for half the amount, from their personal accounts).

I'm surprised they got here so quickly; I wasn't expecting them until maybe Friday (I knew Mark and Jane would be acting with all deliberate speed, but I wasn't so sure about the US Mail). In any case, the timing is good, because I don't have to be at work tomorrow until 3:00, and I have Friday off, so it seems like I should be able to get the requisite insurance/registration stuff done, and be "street legal" by the weekend.

(The only potential "hitch in my giddyup" here is if the bank won't cash the checks right away because they're out-of-state and I don't have that amount in my checking account. But no big thing; I've lived for awhile without a car, so I can hang for another week or so if need be.)

Don't really know who to go to for insurance. Justice, one of my castmates from Crossing, actually brought up a "friend" of his who supplies people with phony insurance papers, and I have to admit, I was tempted, but I'm basically an honest guy (i.e. A guy who's afraid of getting into trouble), so I'm probably going to go the more legitimate route, even though car insurance has always felt like a major scam to me.

(AIS, the insurance I had with the Corsica, was kind of strange; I paid all the up-front money, and basically never heard from them again. The time to pay them more money came and went--I'd opted for a few big payments rather than a monthly bill--and I never heard a word. I tried to call them a couple times, but was put on hold forever--It's the kind of company that basically doesn't want to know you after they've gotten your money--and since I didn't want to shell out more money anyway, and the car at that point was spending more time with the mechanic than with me, I said to hell with it.)

I called Victor and Marie last night. Talked to Victor, letting him know I'd gotten the money from Mark and Jane, and that it was just a question of getting to the bank.

He said that was fine, they were hanging onto the car for me, no rush, and just to give him a little notice when I wanted to pick it up so he could get it washed.

I love this guy!

I also e-mailed Jane, to let her know I'd gotten the funds.

It's really hard for me to communicate the depth of my gratitude to Mark and Jane for what they're doing.

I probably would have gotten this car thing done without them eventually, but it would have taken much longer, been much more stressful, and I likely would have ended up with a much more uncertain vehicle ("Dear Diaryland--I finally found a car I can afford. It's a '78 Pacer with 250,000 miles on it, but the price is right--$50 and a six-pack of Miller Lite...").

But over-and-above those kind of considerations, which are substantial, it just means a great deal to me to have them so willing to back me up, to put themselves out for me.

I don't know what I did to deserve them, but there they are. And I'm very, very glad.

_________________________________________________

I haven't wanted to admit this to myself, and have been embarrassed to admit it in Diaryland for some reason, but I think it's official--I've grown a new hernia.

For awhile, I've been having periodic pain in my "special area". I've thought of said pain as being "hernia-like", but it really isn't so much "like" a hernia as it is an "actual" hernia.

And I know this because I've already done this little dance; I don't remember what year it was, but I had hernia surgury--for an inguinal hernia on the left side--during the time I was at Schuler Books.

I'm not exactly thrilled here, but I'm trying to tell myself it's not the end of the world. I do have insurance, and while it's not the way I might have chosen to spend my vacation--I have ten days available to me after June, I believe--at least I have "recuperation time" available.

And looking on the sunny side, this will be a perfect opportunity to ask the doctor about another longstanding problem that I've been too embarrassed to have checked out ("Hey doc, as long as you're in the neighborhood...").

But anyway, it's moving towards 10 a.m. now, and that means I can start moving towards the bank.

I almost have a car again. YEE-HA!!!

 

previous - next

0 comments so far
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!