Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

5:27 pm - Thursday, Feb. 14, 2008
That New-Car Smell

That New-Car Smell

Thurs 2/14/08 (10:11 a.m.)

(Watching a marathon of the first three episodes of Breaking Bad on AMC. If you haven�t checked it out, and you�re a fan of �edgier� tv fare, give it a try. Bryan Cranston - the dad on Malcolm in the Middle - is amazing in the lead.)

Of course, as an actor, I�m happy the writer�s strike is over.

But I�m not just an �actor� - I�m a fan too - so I�m also happy for the return of many of my favorite shows (The new shows I started watching this year - like Chuck and Pushing Daisies - won�t be back till the fall; the others won�t be back till sometime in April, at the earliest).

But it looks like my favorite show - Friday Night Lights - may not be back at all.

And that frustrates me to no end, both as an actor (I�d kill to be involved in something as good as Friday Night Lights), and as a fan of great tv (People bitch about all the �crap� on tv, but when something really worthwhile comes along, no one watches).

It won�t be the end of the world if my current �favorite show on tv� gets cancelled - it�s happened before (My So-Called Life comes to mind, amongst a number of others) - but it will be very disappointing; I don�t want to say I live for this stuff...but sometimes I live for this stuff.

____________________

While it�s always good to book a job, for various and sundry reasons, and it definitely brightens my outlook, it�s almost/kinda/sorta becoming �the status quo�; I�ve booked commercials and co-star roles a number of times now, if not as often as I�d like, so while it�s always something to be desired, it�s lost that �new-car smell�.

And it�s occurred to me that, not only do I want to smell that �new-car smell� again, I want you to smell it too.

I�m eager to make more progress - like booking a tv guest-star part, or a movie role - in part so I can report it in here, and have people be excited and happy for me again.

Cause that makes me feel good.

____________________

Thinking a lot about �finances� these days, from taxes (Javier - my therapist, who amongst his various degrees, has a degree in accounting - has directed me away from taking deductions, which I thought about doing for the first time, and towards doing my taxes online, like I�ve done the past couple years), to how I�d like this year to go (to have enough money for bills, enough money to pay my debts, enough money for savings - and some serious financial planning - and enough money for fun), to how I should earmark the money from AT&T, assuming I make enough money from it to be �earmarked� for anything beyond monthly expenses.

I�ve come to realize that what I want, much more than �things�, is to simply live an enjoyable life, to spend most of my time doing things I want to do, with people I want to do them with.

And part of the �enjoyment� is going to come from knowing that, whatever happens, I�ll never fall below a certain �baseline� level of existence. And I want my acting to pay for that assurance, which means 1) I have to get acting work, and 2) When I get it, I have to put a good chunk aside, and 3) that �good chunk� has to make money for me (The piddling interest I�ve made on thousands of dollars in savings this past year suggests to me that savings accounts are for suckers)


 

previous - next

0 comments so far
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!