Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:43 am - Sun 2/10/02
\"I'm just a cockeyed optimist...\"
Yesterday, when I went in to work, I was a little annoyed when I checked out my upcoming schedule and saw that my days off have moved to Monday and Tuesday. It felt like it "threw everything off", particularly since I was working up a head of steam about doing the Groundlings audition on Thursday.

But it's really not a big deal. The Groundlings are going to be there (The group's been around for twenty or more years, so I don't think they're going to close up shop overnight), and having Monday night off means I'll get to go to that play reading deal at the theater on Santa Monica I checked out awhile back. And as far as I know, THAT doesn't COST anything (A successful audition for classes with the Groundlings would mean coming up with $400 or thereabouts ). So I'm going to assume that things are going exactly the way they're SUPPOSED to (Pretty "cosmic" of me, dontcha think?).

And speaking of theaters on Santa Monica, I got a call Friday, inviting me to audition for two shows at the Coleman and Smith theater! (This was from a headshot I sent out on Monday.)

It doesn't PAY, but as I've been telling my various e-mail correspondents, that isn't really even the main THING right now; The most important thing is that I start ACTING out here. I need to be acting--for my mental health, to "keep my instrument sharp", to have LA credits to put on my resume, to have something to invite agents to, and to start making "connections" out here (And this is a theater I could WALK to I had to. It's certainly do-able as a bike ride, either coming from home or from work).

(I think it's even important, in terms of the bookstore, that I have a "schedule conflict" that needs to be worked out. As I've said before, I've been deathly afraid of that cropping up, but it's GOING to happen, and the only way I'm going to know if things are going to work with Borders and Acting is to "test the waters".)

They want a comic monologue, and I have two that are good to go. Neither are screamingly funny, but I like them, and feel they present me well, so I'm going with...one of them. I haven't decided which yet (One is from "The Good Doctor", a play I did a long time ago. Another is from "Key Exchange", which was one of the books in the box of things Kevin sent me for Xmas).

Going back to the change in my days off...It occured to me that it's also a good thing because store inventory is happening today, and hopefully, if I'm gone Monday and Tuesday, that'll mean things will be close to being "back in order", or at least as "back in order" as things GET at the store, by the time I come back to work on Wednesday (What can I say? I'm just a cockeyed OPTIMIST...).

Well, often times I feel like I'm closing up shop here before I'm really DONE, but I just finished e-mailing everyone and their mother just now (I still have to e-mail Kristie D. ), and I feel like I'm kinda "talked out".

So it goes...

 

previous - next

0 comments so far
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!