Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:08:07 - 2001-01-24
More Oliver crap
"Oliver" opens a week from Thursday...

We haven't had a run of either act that feels "performance ready", let alone a run of the whole show--Did I mention we open a week from Thursday?--but once we got started last nite with Act II ( The first part of rehearsal was largely devoted to lobby shots ), there were a number of things to be encouraged by.

Personally, I did make some strides last night, which everyone seemed to take notice of--At different points Jane, Dan, and Doug all complimented something I was doing--but I wouldn't say I'm "performance ready" MYSELF just yet.

There's a scene with "Sykes" and "Nancy" that I've screwed up each of the last three times we've done it. I simply don't know my lines well enough ( Actually, it's the CUES I seem to be having the hardest time with; I'm jumping in ahead of time, or not coming in when I'm supposed to. It particularly sucks because Jennifer is rocking in the scene, and doesn't need me dragging things down ).

Other than that, it's just a question of getting to work out little details of onstage business ( And I'm afraid we're going to run out of time for that, and they DO make a difference ), and getting a better sense that I'm playing a consistent character in each scene.

I did figure out something for myself last night that I think is a good thing. I've been thinking about this "faux-elegant" voice, as I've called it, and wondering when he breaks down and talks more "street". But I think Fagin's affectations are the way he chooses to present himself all the time.

But work beckons. I'll have to take up the fascinating subject of Fagin's vocal quality at a later time.

 

previous - next

0 comments so far
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!