Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:22 pm - Sun 10/28/07
The Cosmic Cruise Director

The Cosmic Cruise Director

Haven't been feeling good about my writing of late, because

1. There's not enough of it, and
2. It's not good enough.

But anyway...

I've had my first full week of 24 Hour Fitness and Weight Watchers, and while I want to do better with both programs, I'm basically happy with the start I've made, and I'm feeling confident I'll be able to "stay the course" and meet my goals.

I've decided to write specific Weight Watcher entries, because I know it can be painfully boring reading about someone else's weight issues/weight loss efforts: "This is what I had for breakfast today...", "I'm so bummed - I only lost five ounces this week", "I'd really like to eat a whole pie", etc. and so on.

So I thought I'd spare people who find that as boring as I would, while giving people who want to go on that particular journey with me the opportunity.

Anyway...

This is the last workday of my new "week" - working Thursday through Sunday - which will be a little bit of an adjustment; I've had Wednesdays and Thursdays off for awhile now, so it'll be interesting to see if the world's any different on Mondays and Tuesdays (Well, I guess my world will be different, cause I won't be at ArcLight).

There's a part of me that's saying "Jim, what are you thinking?" - choosing to go down to four days a week at ArcLight on the eve of a possible Writers strike - but I want this. And knowing me, no matter when I made a decision like this, I'd figure out some reason to second-guess myself.

I'm feeling some guilt, because I'm trying to work less. But if the "work" you're talking about is financially unrewarding and spiritually unsatisfying, why the hell not try to do something to shake things up?

And this isn't about me just having another night to stay home and watch tv (Not completely, anyway); Monday nights are going to be me going out to M'Dears for that blues jam (And if I can find anyplace that does them on Tuesday or Wednesdays, I'll try those too). And doing that comedy class when that comes back around. And continuing to do casting workshops.

In short, I want a life. I want as much of a life as I can grab for myself.

And I think the operative word there is "grab"; I have to get proactive about making a better, more enjoyable life for myself. I've been waiting around for some "cosmic cruise director" to liven things up, with fun activities and the like, and what do you know? Turns out it's up to me to keep things lively.

I was just talking to Cary a short time ago, telling him how this thing at the first Weight-Watchers meeting struck me--"If you always do what you've always done, you'll always get what you've always gotten".

It's an oldie, but a goodie.

It's time to do something new.

 

previous - next

0 comments so far
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!