Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:06 am - Thursday, Jul. 25, 2002
The Man Behind The Curtain

The Man Behind The Curtain

For all those people who have been clamoring to see what I look like (I remember at least one person asking), here I am, in all my radiant splendor...

I don't remember when this picture was taken (Sometime in the year before I left for LA, I think), but it was taken at Jane's house, with a digital camera she had borrowed from work.

I think it's still representative of the way I look. I'm a little balder and grayer and worse for wear, but if you saw me on the street, I think you'd recognize me.

But anyway...

Looked at The Hollywood Reporter while I was at work yesterday. I'm not sure it's going to be all that helpful (I found myself thinking I would have made better use of my time looking at Backstage, which we get, typically, on Wednesday mornings).

This was the "weekly" I was looking at (There's also a "daily"). Towards the back, it has a list of films "in production", "in development", etc and so on, but I don't really see what I get from seeing a film started shooting a couple months ago, or getting a list of actors in the movie but no casting director, or having no description of the movie in question (Not much point in sending my headshot out for the next Waiting to Exhale).

I don't know how one does it, but I have to figure out both what films are out there--"in development"--and what parts they might have for me (I think, typically, that this is the part where an agent might come in handy, though every "how to" book I've read on the subject says that even with an agent, you have to be proactive in getting your own opportunities, and not count on them to hand things to you).

Because Phil closed the registers out last night before asking the staff if we had any employee purchases, I didn't get the copy of Backstage West I should be holding in my hot little hands right now, so that's going to be part of my "things to do" over my "weekend".

I...want...a...paying...acting...job!

Speaking of "things to do", I have a list--Wash the car, get an oil change, get the bike to the bike shop (The money just keeps going out...), buy that copy of Backstage, etc--and I should be doing that "ritual cleansing" thing (Showering, shaving, plucking my eyebrows, and so on), but I've got to lay down...

I'm still wrestling with the CPAP (Basically, I go to sleep with the mask on, then take it off soon after I fall asleep. I wake up in the morning with it laying off to the side of my bed).

I don't know how else to do it, so I'm starting to set my alarm to wake me up every two hours, so I can put my mask back on; Last night (or this morning, to be more accurate), I went to bed at 3:30, then got up at 5:30, then again at 7:30, to put my mask back on, then woke up again within the hour, throat kind of sore...and here we are.

So I'm tired. I'm tired, but I'm trying.

And I'm going back to bed...

 

previous - next

0 comments so far
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!