Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:36 pm - Sun 7/14/02
Jims Sunday Afternoon Dance Party

Jims Sunday Afternoon Dance Party

(I can tell I don't really have much to say right now, because I've just wasted the past couple minutes trying to think of a title for this entry. So if you see one at the start of this entry, I came up with it after the fact. Anyway...)

I called Cary yesterday, to let him know about the apartment thing. I thought he might want to know that this service he signed up for, as a kindness to me, apparently has a habit of never taking their old listings down (I was hot enough about it to want to call the place myself, but the membership is in his name, so I didn't think my complaints would carry much weight).

It's "Employee Appreciation Days" at the bookstore.

What does that mean, you ask? Parties? Bonuses? A constant stream of hookers and beer?

None of the above. Essentially, it means that, throughout this weekend, we get a 40% discount on merchandise we normally get a 25% discount on.

I've already got $140 outstanding on my house account, so I didn't want to go nuts, but I've had my eye on this "Millenium Party" cd set for some time, so I bought that and called it good (I now consider myself "appreciated" at Borders).

It's a five cd collection from Rhino Records--funk, hip-hop, classic rock, 60s rock, and 80s new wave--and from the amount of air time my other Rhino compilation cds have gotten, I'd say it was a smart purchase.

But I'm not completely comfortable with it, which kind of indicates my continues inability to be "completely comfortable" with me.

I don't want to be this guy who is living completely in the musical past, lost in nostalgia, when life was (theoretically) more carefree. But by the same token, I don't want to be some old guy who is self-consciously "hip" or "down" or whatever the young people are calling it these days, in order to stave off the inexorable, inevitable aging process.

But I don't think I'm the first guy, and I couldn't be the second guy if I wanted to.

I'm just me.

 

previous - next

0 comments so far
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!