Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:53 pm - MON 3/04/02
Moving towards maybe making a decision about something...I think
Having one of those times where I feel like there's so much to say, I hardly know where to start...

Just finished chatting with Lauren. For awhile now, I've felt like she really isn't very interested in chatting with me--she never initiates a "chat" these days, and when we do talk, she's not very forthcoming (And even though I love going on at great lengths about "the wonder of ME", there ARE limits)--but I'm telling myself she's just "not in a good space" right now, and not to take it personally.

So other than the fact that Lauren HATES me, things are looking pretty good.

This morning, the people who bought the Corsica called, to ask where they needed to send the money for the ticket (They parked in a handicapped space, which is a hefty $330 fine. Ouch!). I'd sent Gustavo a copy of the notice I'd gotten for the ticket, from the city of Hawthorne, and I guess he actually passed it on to the guilty party.

Thank you Gustavo. And thank you, guilty party.

Now everyone tells me there was no way I was going to end up on the hook for that ticket ANYWAY, but nevertheless, I felt a sense of relief, of a burden being lifted, and a restoration of my shaky faith in human nature, all because of a simple phone call, from a decent person making something NOT MY PROBLEM.

(I had a moment, after the conversation, where I wondered how the car was doing. But then I realized I didn't really want to KNOW; If it's giving them PROBLEMS, I'd feel badly for them, and if NOT, I'd feel badly for ME! But anyway...)

So with that issue out of the way, I feel freed- up to start thinking about mechanized transportation again.

A few days ago, I called the number for the C.C. Rider motorcycle safety course, but I missed their office hours. I called again today, but still got the recording. So I left a message for them to send me information.

And then it occurred to me, "Hey, they have a website, and I have a COMPUTER. What am I WAITING for...?". So I checked out the website; It's $200 for the 16-hour beginner course, which is basically half classroom instruction, half time on a motorcycle course, riding around on small bikes (150 to 350 cc's).

That $200 is a bite for me (Not to mention the cost of a helmet and boots), but as I said to Lauren, it's probably less than I'd spend on hospital bills or funeral expenses if I bought a bike and DIDN'T take the course, so I'm not going to complain about it too much (Being over 21, I don't HAVE to take the course to get a motorcyle, but since I have an aversion to DEATH, it feels like something I SHOULD do).

(Something I don't know; If I opted to go the moped route, do all the same safety rules apply? At this point, I don't even know if all the controls are the same or not. But anyway...)

*************************************************

Well, I've screwed around this evening, and have ran out of time and energy for the "epic entry" I thought I was going to do.

But if you like long-winded excursions into the excruciating minutae of my life, tomorrow's entry is for YOU!

See ya then!

 

previous - next

0 comments so far
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!