Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:43 PM - 12.15.16
Welcome To Another Episode Of "Clearing Off My Desk"

Welcome To Another Episode Of "Clearing Off My Desk"

_________________________

"Religion will forgive God for fucking anything."

(Wish I'd written down if I'm quoting myself there or someone else, or if it was perhaps a possible D-land title - But I'm guessing it's something I read that I very much agree with.

_________________________

"If it's important to you, you'll find a way. If not, you'll find an excuse."

(I think about this all the time, in terms of my acting, and the fact that I haven't really acted in the past decade-and-a-half. It troubles me that I'm "finding an excuse" when it comes to one of the only things I supposedly want to do in life.)

_________________________

How To Cook Everything - Bittman

(Someone recommended this to me as a non-cook. I will in all likelihood never buy it.)

_________________________

"Way more people have tried to help me than harm me. The harm just seems to leave the deeper mark."

That's a line from the series finale of Rectify that leapt out at me, in an "I could have written this in my journal (and probably have in some form)" kind-of-way (This will mean nothing if you haven't seen the show, but I very much related to "Daniel Holden", the show's lead character).

_________________________

"Showing-off is not acting."

(I've had to tell myself that when, in a couple of Shameless episodes that required me to perform in some way, they either went with takes where I made mistakes, or - in the episode where I sang karaoke - actually fiddled with the sound to make me out-of-sync with the music. Because while "Jim" is a passable singer and dancer, and would like the world to see that, "Kermit" probably wouldn't be. And "Showing-off is not acting" makes the bigger point that my initial motivation to act was to show-off, but that's not what it's about, especially not if you're a character-guy.)

_________________________

Listening to Jerry Seinfeld talk about Seinfeld, I was intrigued/amused that, when they had a guest-actor who wasn't delivering a line to their satisfaction, the direction they would always give them was "louder and faster".

(It reminded me of the instruction I got from the CD at my Gilmore Girls audition years ago, which was to say "That was nice...now do it about a thousand times faster".)

_________________________

"Why am I not 'driven'? Cause I'm not - If I were, I'd be successful."

(That could be an entire journal entry all by itself - all my life I've been frustrated by the fact that I want to be successful...but not enough to do very much about it.)

_________________________

The fantasy was to play characters "bigger than myself". The reality is that I play characters "smaller than myself".

(I don't think I'm ever going to get over my disappointment about this.)

_________________________

"I don't want life to imitate art, I want life to be art!"

-From Postcards From The Edge-

(That fact that I also feel this way is, I think, one of the myriad of thoughts that keep me from being happy.)

 

previous - next

0 comments so far
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!