Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:58 pm - Mon 5/19/03
Disco Fever

Disco Fever

Here's one the the most inspiring quotes I've come across, from that little old bomb-maker himself, Edward Teller...

When you come to the end of all the light you know and it's time to step into the darkness of the unknown, faith is knowing that one of two things will happen: Either you will be given something solid to stand on, or you will be taught how to fly.

Had another commercial casting today, at Ross Lacey down on LaBrea (I like getting castings at this place--Like Westside, it's another complex where there are a number of commercial casting directors--because it's pretty close, and depending on circumstance, I can drive or ride my bike. Today I drove, because I was in business attire).

There wasn't much to this one, but it could be fun; The scenario involved someone getting a loan. And while they're signing the papers, the lights go off. When they come back on, you see me next to the light switch (You see, I turned the lights off so they couldn't read "the fine print". I'm such a little stinker...!).

On Saturday, I auditioned for something a kinda different, a thing I saw in Backstage a couple weeks back called "Club 70s" (The audition took place at the El Rey, down on Wilshire, a club I've rode by a number of times but never been in).

When I first saw the notice, I thought it sounded like fun, and wrote it down on my calendar. But as the weeks passed, I started having my doubts; Yes, I can dance, but I was pretty sure they wanted attractive young people to look like they were from the 70s, not actual 70s artifacts like Yours Truly.

I wavered on it till the night before, but finally decided to do it.

Sometimes you just have to say "What the hell!"

The notice had called for "dancers", "singers", "musicians", and "celebrity lookalikes", so I decided to be a "dancer", assuming they'd just want to see if I could move.

There were mostly young girls there, some who were dressed in the period, some who were in dance clothes, and a couple who had decided to forego "dresssing" altogether.

There were a relative handful of guys, half of whom were African-American, along with some people who left me thinking "What audition notice are they responding to?"; There was a couple in Western gear, two transvestites who did a very lame routine to "All That Jazz", a belly dancer, and a guy I'd estimate was about 70 years old, leading me to believe he might have thought "Club 70s" was an activity group for old-timers like himself (But as I said to Lauren afterwards, I'm sure people were thinking the same thing--"What's he doing here?"--when they looked at me!).

It was pretty chaotic; Even though the notice in Backstage had given specific start times for each "specialty", it seemed like everybody came at the same time.

And much to my chagrin, they taught a dance combination (I've been able to learn basic steps readily enough, but it's been awhile since I've had to, and I'm about a hundred times better dancing "freestyle" than doing a routine. And the guy who was "teaching" it seemed to be making it up as he went along).

They went through all the girls--There was a wide range of ability, but everyone could basically dance--then started with the guys.

I went up in a group of three guys, and wasn't happy with how it went; I started out very strong, full of "attitude", but got lost, and basically petered out at the end (This annoyed me because I know better; In a dance combination, the most important thing is to stick the beginning and end. If you hit those strong, it makes up for a little flub in the middle somewhere).

After the combination, we had a couple eight counts to "do our thing", and that was where I had my "moment"; When I started dancing, people started shouting and clapping, and it was pretty fun (My only disappointment was that the female dancers had been dismissed after their turn).

I knew nothing was going to come of it, but I just wanted to have my little moment. And I got that, so that was fun.

And I'm glad I stuck it out, because in the middle of learning the combination, I was about a second away from walking out.

But speaking of "walking out", I'd better get going, or I'm going to be late for work...

 

previous - next

0 comments so far
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!