Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:53 PM - Weds 7.13.22
-

Greetings From "The Land Of Enchantment"

Don't know how long it's been since I last wrote, but it feels like a while...

Left LA for Santa Fe on Monday, and am headed back tomorrow - I don't know if that qualifies as a "whirlwind tour", but it feels like it from where I'm sitting.

Not quite ready to go back to LA yet, but go back I shall (I'm hoping there will be enough happening in the coming days to distract me from no-Jane and a certain sense of "being in limbo" career-wise...but more on that in a bit).

The primary reason I'm here was to attend a little shindig Jane organized last night, a celebration of the now-completed documentary with the Santa Fe cast and crew (There's a scene in the documentary that was shot here and involved a number of Jane's fellow Santa Feans).

(I should issue a "clarification" here - The documentary is done so far as the "story" goes. But there are still a few technical things to do, I think primarily concerning the credits and whatnot.)

Jane was nervous about the event, as was I, but it went off without a hitch. People seemed to enjoy themselves quite a bit, and we both felt encouraged about the film's prospects moving forward (And encouraged about our ability to talk about the film in an informative and entertaining fashion - I think we'll be a good Q&A "team" when the time comes).

I'm precluding from talking too much about the film's film-festival prospects so far. And that kind of works out, since there's not too much to talk about.

So all I'll say - hoping Jane won't "read me the riot act" when she sees this - is that we do not know where the film will premiere just yet, but there are some possibilities we are "cautiously optimistic" about.

Basically, we know the film is going to be seen, we just don't know where and when.

I was nervous about having to be "on" last night, which strikes me as a little "weird" - I can't really think of a situation where I felt I had to be "on" and failed somehow (Unless you count some botched auditions) - but nevertheless, that's where I was at going into the thing.

But I was fine.

Honestly? I'm more comfortable at a party where I'm "the guest of honor" (Or at least "guest of honor-adjacent" - I felt like Jane was the real star of the show last night) than a party where I'm just in attendance and have to figure out what to do with myself, awkwardly milling about in the crowd.

After the event, Jane had a smaller gathering back at her house, a gathering she'd been imagining as a little "dance party", but which ended up with the group of us sitting around her spacious dining-room table, eating the very lovely cake she'd ordered for the occasion and talking about this and that (Which was quite lovely - After all the pretending to be a celebrity I'd been doing for the previous couple hours, I was kinda wiped out anyway).

That was the only scheduled "event" of the trip...and as much as I'd been looking forward to it (And enjoyed it last night), I'm kind of glad it's in the rear-view mirror, if you know what I mean.

Beyond that, I've basically just been hanging out with Jane, trying not to think about how it might be quite a while before I see her again (She's got stuff she has to do here in Santa Fe, and doesn't have a scheduled "return-date" for LA at this juncture).

While I actually like my place - It's where my things are, after all - and I like my non-day-job-having life better than, I don't know, being a Walmart greeter or what-have-you, LA is more fun when Jane is there, acting as my one-woman social life.

And there's a lot of "limbo" to deal with - There's the "limbo" of the film (Even though we're both optimistic about the successes to come, we'd still like "the ball to get rolling" on the whole film-festival thing), the "limbo" of when Jane will be back in LA, and the ongoing "limbo" of whether or not Jim is going to have a post-Shameless "career".

(Though on that latter front, I did get a very large residual payment today - I assume from Shameless, cause what else would it be from? - so Shameless is "The gift that keeps on giving"...or at least "The gift that continues to give...for now".

And there are a lot of people in the world who have a lot worse problems than basically "having to keep themselves entertained".

I think that's all I've got for now.

Till next time...



0 comments

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!