Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

4:59 pm - Weds 7.09.2008
Good News? 2.0

Good News...?

Weds 7/9/08 (11:13 a.m.)

(As I begin, I�m �on hold� with the California Franchise Tax Board, where I hope to figure out why I received a refund a couple months ago, and am now being told I still owe $58.62.)


Well, the big news in my world is that AFTRA�s membership voted to ratify their new contract with the AMPTP (aka �The Producers).

(I found out last night, while at a workshop.)

I�ve read that this kind of vote typically passes by 90% or more, so apparently, the SAG campaign against it had an effect - it still passed, but with only 62%.

But passing is passing, and the growing consensus is that it�s unlikely SAG will strike under the circumstances.

And how do I feel about all this...?

My gut response is that it�s good in the short term, and very bad in the long term.

After the WGA strike earlier in the year, a SAG strike would have been really tough

But I�m afraid, long-run, this development strengthens AFTRA (Which isn�t in my best interests as an actor, I don�t think), weakens SAG (ditto), emboldens the producers (To continue to work on cheating working actors out of money they�re entitled to) and increases the odds against my being able to make a living as an actor in years to come.

But what is there to do?

Far as I can see, there isn�t much to do beyond just keep moving forward, hoping for the best.

Not my typical �modus operandi�, that �hoping for the best� bit, particularly in scary, uncertain circumstances (like trying to be a professional actor, for example). But I�m working on it.

_________________________

This doesn�t qualify as �good news� yet, because nothing�s actually happened, but there�s a chance I may get some more money out of last year�s Cold Stone Creamery commercial.

The spot hasn�t run on tv for quite some time - it�s clearly done at this point - but it�s still up on a website (www.loveit-loveit.com), and when I asked JS about that, he told me the 1-year contract for Internet use expired as of last month (On the 20th).

He said �They probably just forgot to take it down, but that doesn�t excuse anything�, or words to that effect.

So he�s looking into it (Apparently, there are some challenges involved, cause it looks like Cold Stone has changed ad agencies since then, but I trust Jon will be able to figure out how to get us some more money).

_________________________

Maybe two weeks ago, I checked out Showtime�s website, where you can watch sample episodes of some of their shows.

So I checked out Dexter, starring Michael C. Hall (great in the late-lamented Six Feet Under, and even better here) and was tremendously impressed, so much so that during my last trip to Target, I used the gift certificate Mark and Jane gave me for my birthday to buy the first season dvd box set.

I finished the last episode today, and now I only regret that I don�t have Showtime, and can�t afford it at this point (But I just remembered - I do have that I-Tunes g.c. Mark H. bought me, as a thank-you for all the dog-walking, so it looks like I�ve found a new �favorite show�).

Seriously, check it out if you have the chance.


 

previous - next

0 comments so far
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!