Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:10 pm - Fri 3.11.2011
Dark Clouds And Silver Linings

Dark Clouds And Silver Linings

Once again, I start this wishing I had more exciting acting news to write about...

I did have a commercial audition yesterday, for US Bank, but I would be surprised if I got a callback, and shocked if I actually booked it.

It wasn't that I did badly - there wasn't really much to do (No lines), and I think I was probably fine, far as it goes - but it isn't a funny commercial, and I have never, to my recollection, booked a spot where I have no lines, and am just miming the role of, basically, a "regular guy"...cause I'm not what your average advertising client thinks of as a "regular guy".

So like I said, I don't see this one happening...but as always, I reserve my right to be happy about being wrong.

____________________

After a Group session a couple weeks back, I took another crack at finding support for adults who were in foster care.

I didn't come up with anything, but I did come across a blog post from a woman who had been in foster care (The post was a compilation of stats I've read elsewhere, which basically boil down to "foster children have a pretty tough time as adults").

We've had a couple of email exchanges, telling each other the story of our time in foster care.

While the details differed, of course, the similarities were striking, in terms of the emotional scars we still bear.

This is something I want to write about at more length, cause I think it's pretty interesting (Interesting to me, anyway). But before I do, I have to write her back, to get permission to "publish" our correspondence in here.

And I think I want to read my case file again...

____________________

Well, it doesn't feel like much is happening with acting - not enough auditions, not enough bookings, etc - but on the WW front, I've recently gotten three new meetings.

Being the way I am, it's hard for me to not see the gray cloud in front of this silver lining - I've as much as said to people, "This isn't the area where I want things to get better!" - but I know that's clearly not the right attitude to take at this juncture.

At this point, particularly with the economy the way it is, anything that helps keep me afloat till the big acting things start happening again is a good thing.

But this situation does make me realize, or realize again, one of the reasons I've never advanced at any of my "day jobs" - I didn't want to run the risk of being "sucked in". Becoming a manager at Borders or ArcLight (Or a Leader at WW), and having the reason I came out here become just a vague, unhappy memory.

Speaking of WW, got an interesting piece of mail recently, stating that WW had settled a class-action lawsuit, and apparently, I'm going to be due some settlement money as a result.

I can't imagine it's going to be a goldmine, but the way I see it, if I get $20, that's $20 I didn't have before.

Well, once again, I don't really get why I had all evening to do this and waited to start till now, but be that as it may, it's 11:00 pm, and I have to get up at 5:45 am (For two of those three new WW meetings I have)...so I'm off to bed.

 

previous - next

0 comments so far
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!