Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:15 pm - Sat 2/2/02
\"Jim and Audrey, sittin' in a tree, K-i-s-s-i-n-g...\"
Yesterday, I had breakfast with Chris S. at Dennys (I'd called him Thursday during the day to set something up).

We spent about two hours together--After Denny's, we went to a nearby "dollar store" ("I don't really NEED anything", Chris said, "I just really LIKE these places")--and we both seemed to have a good time. It made me want to get together with him more often.

Since the last time we'd seen each other, Chris got his ears "done" (They used to stick out; Now he's more aerodynamic). Something about that made me feel kind of sad--Chris is a very good looking guy. We aren't talking "Hunchback of Notre Dame" here--and Chris seemed uncomfortable with it too, if the crack he made about becoming "a real Hollywood phony" is any indication...and I think it is.

After Chris dropped me off, inspired by our conversation, I decided I would do some mailings to agents, out of the listings in the "Ross Reports". I re-did my letter, to make it short and sweet--The one I had "on file" wasn't so good--but I couldn't get my printer to work, so after turning things on and off for awhile and cursing mightily, I gave up, and kind of dozed and watched tv for awhile.

In the early afternoon, I went to a theater on Melrose and LaBrea--I've forgotten the name--and saw "Amelie".

I thought it was DELIGHTFUL. I was particularly taken with the lead, Audrey Tautou (As I told Cary when I spoke to him on the phone later in the evening, I don't think it's too big a deal to arouse my LUST--that happens a number of times a DAY, most days--but this was LOVE). Anyway, if "The Hoffmaster Seal of Approval" means anything to you, go see this movie.

I fell into a bit of a FUNK after the movie. It was the kind of movie, for me anyway, that makes you want to call someone and tell them you love them, or at least go out for coffee afterwards and talk about what you just saw. But there was no one to call--I could have called HER, but unfortunately, her husband's the JEALOUS type--and there was no one to have coffee with.

I actually thought about seeing ANOTHER movie (I've been wanting to see "Monster's Ball"), but decided not to, half out of fiscal repsonsibility, half out of not wanting to dilute the effect of what I'd just seen. So I just ended up going home.

I took another whack at printing up agent letters, but I was still getting nothing. So I called Cary to see if he had any advice, but he didn't really know what to tell me (After I got off the phone to Cary, I somehow jiggled the right wire or hit the right button or something, and finally managed to get my five letters done. I stuck with the same letter, just changing the name and address as needed).

Today, amongst other errands, I bought stamps and 20 more manilla envelopes.

I decided recently that I'm going to notate on my calendar when I send out headshots, where they went to (Agents, casting directors, etc), and how many I did. After sending out a whopping SEVEN headshots through all of last month, it's obvious that I need something to keep me HONEST here.

Well, work beckons....

 

previous - next

0 comments so far
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!