Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:21 pm - Fri 1/4/08
My Last Mention Of 2007

My Last Mention Of 2007

Well, to start on a positive note, I just checked the USA Network's website, and my episode of Monk ("Mr Monk Goes To A Bank")is airing on the 18th this month, at 9:00 pm.

So set your Tivos, or VCRs, or whatever. Or if you want to do things the old-fashioned way, I guess you could just watch it when it's on that night.

(I'm "Hot Dog Vendor", and if my line doesn't get cut, I'll be making my appearance early in the episode.)

____________________

I'm feeling ambivalent; I'm not finished mentally "wrapping up" 2007, but I also feel compelled to move on ("Damn Jim, four days into the new year and you're still going on about 2007? Get with the program...").

A big thing I'm coming away with when I think about 2007 is how truly important money is.

In 2007, I made decent money for the first time in my life.

And maybe it shouldn't be this way, but that meant something to me all by itself; monetarily, what I have to offer has never been of much value to anyone, so it meant a great deal to me to get checks this year, sometimes for thousands of dollars, for doing things that are at least in the vicinity of what I came out here to do. It felt like...validation of a sort.

And while making money this past year didn't provide the security I fantasize about - because 1) It wasn't that much money, and 2) 2007 is just one year (And who knows what 2008 will bring?) - the money I made allowed me to do things I wanted to do (Going back to Michigan for Mark and Jane's anniversary party; going to harmonica "Jam Camp"), allowed me to do things for my health (Qualifying for health insurance through SAG; joining a gym and paying for a trainer to get me started; knowing I could pay for Weight Watchers after Jane's 10 week gift ran out), and allowed me to pay bills, buy groceries, and have a little fun, all without undue stress and strain.

There's nothing I enjoyed about 2007 (And I enjoyed quite a bit, though the year could have ended stronger, and without me getting mugged)that didn't connect, directly or indirectly, to money, and the fact that I actually had some.

So of course, the "bad side" of all this is that I risk only being as good as the amount of success I'm having; if you're "worth something" when people are paying you, what are you worth when no one's paying you?

And if life was as good as it was in 2007 because of money, what happens if I don't do as well in 2008?
What if the Writer's Strike segues into the SAG theatrical strike, which seques into a SAG commercial strike?

I guess I'll just have to hope that doesn't happen...

____________________

Well, I meant to write a lot more, but had to do laundry and whatnot - and it always takes me longer to write these than I think it will - and now I have to catch a nap (Cause I'm tired now, and closing Guest Services tonight means I'll be getting home probably around 3:30 a.m. or thereabouts).

It's a little late in coming, but "Happy New Year!" to you tens of fans out there - the ones I know and the ones I don't. I thank you for following along in here, and wish you the best for 2008.

Let's make it a good one, shall we?

 

previous - next

1 comments so far
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!