Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:51 pm - Tue 5/14/02
Pocket Lint From The Pocket Journal

Pocket Lint From The Pocket Journal

The other day at work, a woman came in to pick up a book she'd placed on hold a short time earlier.

The book couldn't be found right away (It turned out the clerk who placed the hold thought the woman had said "Mallory" and not "Valerie"), and the woman almost immediately started to flip out.

The book in question? Emotional Resilience.

_________________________________________________

There's a place on 6th and Normandie called "Snack Heaven". Sounds like where "Homer Simpson" wants to go when he dies...

_________________________________________________

Recent Celebs in the bookstore (The "*" indicates personal contact by Yours Truly)

1. Khandi Alexander* (News Radio, ER)

2. Sally Kirkland (Nothing I've ever seen, but an actress)

3. Leonardo DiCaprio and Gisele What's-Her-Name* (He looked like just any regular good-looking guy, while she was extremely, unappealingly skinny)

4. Richard "John Boy" Thomas (I've seen him in the store before)

5. David Crosby

_________________________________________________

Read an article on Johnny Carson recently, I think in Esquire. I always liked him.

_________________________________________________

I know it's wrong, because guns kill people and all that...but I still think they're really cool.

_________________________________________________

I liked The Real World on MTV. I watched every season when I had regular cable (My current cable--a poor person's version of "basic" which gets "antenna reception"--doesn't have MTV). With Survivor, on the other hand, I watched the first season, then lost interest.

_________________________________________________

Right now, I'm reading Why People Believe Strange Things.

Before that, I read Boone's Lick, a Larry McMurtry western that's the first one I've read since Lonesome Dove. Enjoyed it.

Before that, I read Pagan Babies, an Elmore Leonard novel. Was disappointed somehow.

_________________________________________________

It's been quite awhile since there was such a thing, but I still sometimes think about "penny candy".

_________________________________________________

About my birthday tomorrow...I almost regret not working. I think it would be a fun tradition if I spent the day as an extra (That's how I spent my birthday last year, on the set of Frank McKlusky), but I don't think that's gonna happen either. So the plan, such as it is, is to just take myself out for the day; I'm going to eat out, drop by a toy store (I can get what I want for probably under $20), and either see a movie or go to the theater. I'll have to break out a credit card in order to have all this fun, but you know what? It's my @#*!! birthday, so I give myself permission to spend some money I don't actually have.

_________________________________________________

I think I've gotten over my frustration about not being able to park near my house sometimes. Now as long as I'm still in LA County I'm okay, just as long as I find that spot fairly quickly.

_________________________________________________

My ultimate woman, at least in terms of appearance? The Hannah & Her Sisters-era Barbara Hershey.

_________________________________________________

There's a sneak preview of About a Boy, the new Hugh Grant movie, at the Beverly Connection theaters tonite.

I've been planning to go (I have a free pass from the bookstore), but last night, I missed a call from Angela--Of Mark & Angela fame--and she said she'd call back tonite.

What to do?

_________________________________________________

"I want to be like him--I want to be rich and famous and meet movie stars"

Anthony Hopkins, talking about his early reaction to Olivier. It amuses me that he didn't say something about his being a great actor.

_________________________________________________

I like women who look fit, without looking like they could kick my ass.

Speaking of fitness, I think it's really bizarre, when you see these women who have bulked up to the point where they look like men, who have so little body fat they have no breasts, who then get these giant implants. In a word--YUCK!

_________________________________________________

I like eyes that turn down at the corners, and mouths that turn up at the corners.

I think that's kind of interesting--I find it appealing if someone looks just a little sad, even when they're smiling, and I also find it appealing if someone looks like there's always a slight smile playing on their lips.

_________________________________________________

Why do I call Jennifer when she never calls back?

When Jane told me about Jennifer's troubles recently, which I'm not going to detail in here, I have to be honest--I felt bad because it didn't have anything to do with me. But in any case, I hope things work out for her. And I hope it's not too painful a process, though I tend to think there's no way around that.

_________________________________________________

Sometimes when I look a little too forward to my "stories", as it amuses me to call them, I get a little bummed out. I'd like to have more to look forward to in my life than what's on tv later that evening.

_________________________________________________

I've noticed that Hayden Christenson (Young "Darth Vader" in the current Star Wars installment)looks a little like Chris S.

So is there a Star Wars installment in Chris's future? I was right about the Brendan Fraser thing, so who knows?

_________________________________________________

Don't want to be "negative", but...

I worry a lot that my days of forming close, lasting personal relationships are over.

How can I shake the nagging feeling that life has passed/is passing me by?

_________________________________________________

There's a kids book called Everybody Poops, and it's a perennial seller, but my favorite book on the subject is called The Story Of The Little Mole Who Went In Search Of Whodunit.

The story?

One day a mole is coming out of his mole hole, and someone takes a dump on his head.

The mole doesn't see "whodunit", so he goes around, with the poop on his head like a hat, and questions all these different animals, who all say "No, that's not me. Mine looks like this", then promptly take a dump in front of him so he can check it out (I find the animals ability to crap on command pretty funny all by itself).

So finally, the mole discovers it was the dog, so he sneaks up when the dog is asleep in his doghouse, and poops on his head.

The End.

I think if little kids were the ones who actually bought the books, this would be a big hit.

 

previous - next

0 comments so far
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!