Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:37 pm - Sunday, Jul. 10, 2005
Another Worry For The List

Another Worry For The List

Another short entry...

Watched a bit of This Week With George Stephanapoulus (sp?) earlier today, as I do most Sunday mornings.

Naturally, it was mainly about the London attack, and security concerns here in the U.S.

For a long time, I've wondered why what just happened in London doesn't happen all the time here--as horrible as 9/11 was, how much more rattled would we all be if a bank blew up one day, a movie theater the next, and a grocery store the day after that? If every time we got on a bus, a train, a plane, a subway, we were taking our life in our hands? (I guess you could say we already are, but you know what I mean.)

I guess we're somewhat protected by the instinct for human preservation--You hear about "suicide bombers" (and there are a lot of fanatics out here, to be sure), but I imagine most "true believers", at the end of the day, would still rather be alive than not.

(But the London terrorists apparently weren't "suicide bombers"; they're saying the guy who blew himself up on the bus was probably "en route" to his intended target.)

I can tell myself this that or the other thing, but the fact is this--This is, quite simply, the way things are now. And we're no longer immune.

And all you can do is hope that when whatever happens happens, that it won't be you or someone you care about.

And on that cheery note, it's off to work...

 

previous - next

0 comments so far
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!