Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:26 pm - Sat 2/23/08
Napping My Blues Away

Napping My Blues Away


Sat 2/23/08 (9:23 a.m.)

Watching the movie Rent; I�ve never seen it onstage, but based on what I enjoy from the movie - Which doesn�t really �work� as a whole - I think I would have enjoyed doing it (Back when I was � performing live, at a theater near you�...if you lived in Lansing, MI. anyways).

(1:34 p.m.)

Haven�t seen a really good movie in awhile now (Excluding Juno, which I watched for the second time recently, because it was the first thing showing when I got to the theater and I wasn�t that excited about our other offerings).

While it may not have rose to the level of �really good��I think it was merely �good�-I did enjoy Definitely Maybe, starring Ryan Reynolds and Abigail Breslin.

Whatever its quality level - �really good� or �merely good� - it worked for me, enough so that afterwards I felt all squishy and romantic, wanting to call �that certain someone� to tell her how I feel (To which she undoubtedly would have replied, since I�ve never made a secret of my affections, �Yeah Jim, I know that already...�).

I enjoyed the women in the movie in particular (Elizabeth Banks, Rachel Weisz, and Isla Fisher, as the women in Ryan Reynold�s romantic past); above and beyond their roles in the movie, watching the three of them onscreen just reminded me, once again, that I really like women, in all their various attractive permutations.


____________________

Well, in the past 24 hours or so, the sun has peeked out a couple times, but it�s mostly been overcast and rainy (I�m grateful that yesterday I did manage to ride to and from work without getting rained on; the rain�s not always so courteous when it comes to respecting my bicycling schedule).

The weather takes on added significance these days, because my AT&T shoot is on Monday; I�ve half hoped it�d get postponed by the weather, to a day that might be more convenient, but I�m not counting on it (And right now, it�s happening on one of my days off from ArcLight, so that might already be as �convenient� as it�s gonna get).

I wish I�d had the foresight to get Sunday off as soon as I knew the shoot date (Since it�s an outdoor shoot, I knew there�d be a super-early call time, at a likely distant location), but the best I�ve managed to do is switch my shift, from closing Guest Services (Which would have had me working till around 2:00 a.m.) to Phone Operator, where I�ll probably be able to split by 9:30 or 10:00.

The location is Tejon Ranch, which I think is kinda/sorta in Cary�s neighborhood (I�ve left messages with him, to see if he can tell me about how long it should take to get there on Monday). And the call time, as expected, is early - 6:00 a.m. - so I want to make sure I get there on time, while still getting as much sleep as I can manage the night before (Though if I err, I want it to be on the side of getting there early, not late).

Valerie, the Production Supervisor, told me to bring warm clothes, because it�s going to be cold (In addition to something to bundle up in between takes, she suggested long underwear, to wear under my wardrobe. So �buy long underwear� is on my �to-do� list after Weight Watchers tomorrow).

The cold sore I was fretting about is now just a minor blemish on my lower lip, easily makeup-ed over, and I�m sure I�ll be able to do whatever they need me to do, in terms of running from here to there; my anxieties have now shifted from physical issues to getting to the location on time and just finding the place.

But I don�t really think there are going to be any problems.

____________________

I�ve been feeling tremendously lonely lately.

Jane�s busy with a play right now, so she�s not been available, and Cary is working a zillion hours a week at his job, working on a screenplay, and trying to find time to be with his wife and child.

Neither of them have a lot of �time on their hands� right now.

And though I�ve tried, I don�t really have any friends here in L.A. (Molly and Jen are having an Oscar party tomorrow, but I can�t go, of course, because I�m working).

It just seems like a number of things are conspiring against my having meaningful friendships out here - my job (Where I work nights and weekends), the fact that I have little to no contact with people my own age, the difficulty of getting together with the people I know here that I�d like to be better friends with, etc.

This is something I have to figure out; I can�t go through whatever remains of my life having so little meaningful human contact.

And on that cheery note, I think I hear a nap calling me...


 

previous - next

0 comments so far
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!