Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:34 pm - Tuesday, Sept. 06, 2005
I'm not a scientiest. I just play one on tv...I hope

I'm Not A Scientist. I Just Play One On TV...I Hope.

Tues 9/6/05 (1:19 p.m.)

Well, more good news on the commercial front�I am �on avail� for the TBS promo.

(To any first time readers: Being �on avail� means I�m �on the short list� for booking the gig, and have been asked about my �availability� for the shoot. So breaking into a little�happy dance� would be premature--I�ve been �on avail� for a number of things in the past couple years, and sometimes I�ve gotten them...and sometimes I haven�t�but it�s definitely encouraging.)

More happy news, if I book the gig�there�s a good chance it�ll shoot on one of my days off next week; I was asked about my availability for next Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday (The spot is quite �involved�, with a number of actors and at least two locations, so it�s hard to imagine it all getting done in a day. But if I get cast, and all I do is what I did at the audition�more on that momentarily�I can�t imagine them needing me for more than a day. But again, it might be a touch premature to speculate on my shooting schedule before I�ve booked the gig...).

At the callback, the only change from what I did at the original audition was that instead of there being two �scientists� and two �test subjects�, I was the lone �scientist�.

Basically, the �bit� was one �test subject� bouncing a ball off the other �test subject�s� head, while I took notes (The casting director jumped in at one point, to show the actor with the ball how to bounce it off the other guy�s head, which was more like bouncing a basketball off a backboard than playing dodgeball).

At one point, they asked me and one of the �test subjects� to switch, and the ball was bounced off my head for awhile (For the record, it was a very soft ball).

I was quite encouraged by the switch-- The way I chose to see it, my chances of getting cast had just doubled. And I thought it suggested they liked me for the spot, and just wanted to figure out where to put me (Or else they just thought I might look funnier getting hit in the head with a ball than the other guy had).

I expect that if I�m going to get a confirmation for the gig, I�ll get it today.

So cross your fingers...

 

previous - next

3 comments so far
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!