Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:27 pm - Tues 2.09.2010
Little Jimmy Sunshine

Little Jimmy Sunshine

I'm feeling some residual depression/disappointment over the way the Castle thing went down - I still believe it'll be a good thing in the end, for reasons previously discussed.

But be that as it may, it's left me feeling a bit bereft.

Because I can "live on" booking a gig like Castle for awhile.

And by "live on", I'm not talking about getting a check; it's nice, when people ask "Have you done anything lately?", to be able to say, "Yeah, I just shot a bit on Castle" ("I almost shot a bit on Castle, but they were running really late that day, so they cut my scene" doesn't have quite the same ring to it).

And it's cool that, when I succeed, it's on a national stage - That's what I came out here for, after all - and to be honest, I don't have much else to feel good about out here.

So it's disappointing that it didn't happen.

But not the end of the world - As I said in my last entry, they assured me they'd have me back (Though it'll have to be pretty quick - the episode I was almost a part of was #17, and there's only 22 episodes in the season - cause it's hard to believe they'll remember that promise a year from now) - and even if Castle doesn't end up happening, something else will (I like Castle, but it's not the only game in town).

It hasn't helped matters, mood-wise, that I've been un-well the past couple days - I started feeling queasy yesterday morning (Throwing up mid-afternoon), haven't had a decent poop in a couple days, and have gone from feeling "queasy" to feeling like I've eaten something that just won't go all the way down (The pain is right around the bottom of my ribcage - reminds me of when I was a little kid, and would take too big a bite of my peanut butter sandwich, and it would hurt going all the way down, only this time, the too-big-a-bite-of-peanut-butter-sandwich is stuck).

So I don't have any upcoming gig to brag about, my stomach hurts, and I can't poop.

(I won't get into the nitty-gritty of the matter, but I'm having some ongoing problems in that general region, which is really making me wish I had health insurance right now. But anyway...)

I had an audition today, for a new show (A Criminal Minds spin-off), at April Webster Casting - the office that does Criminal Minds and Lost.

Since the last time I was in that office, years ago, I flubbed the audition horribly, it would have been nice to go into this one "locked and loaded".

Didn't happen.

Flubbing your first take doesn't necessarily mean you won't book the gig - that happened when I auditioned for Mad Men - but I would have preferred to show Scott David (April's partner, who brought me in for Criminal Minds the first time) that I can get a line out without falling all over myself.

I'm also curious, since I knew I was going in for the role of "Coroner", why I didn't wear the white lab coat that I bought years ago for just such an occasion (Early in my professional life in LA, I got a fair amount of commercial auditions to play scientists...but never booked them, for some reason).

I clearly wasn't 100%...but they don't know that when they see you, so you have to "suck it up" and get the job done.

Oh well...once again, I have to just tell myself, "There will be other jobs".

Well, I'm just a little ray of sunshine tonight, ain't I?

(I don't think I'm going to get any cheerier at this point, and it's late anyway, so I guess I'll just call it a night...)


 

previous - next

0 comments so far
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!