Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:32 pm - Thursday, May. 01, 2003
A Swinger From Way Back

A Swinger From Way Back

(Testing my newly hooked-up scanner. With thanks to my buddy, Kevin K.)

The above picture is one of the handful I have of myself as a child. Not sure how old I am in the photo--Maybe five or six?--but the picture makes me wonder whether I was a giant child, or simply on the world's smallest swingset.

Anyway...

Had my Rugrats callback on Tuesday.

It was fun. They had me run through it once, then I did it the same way I did at the first audition. Then they asked me to do it "straight", "like an announcer, or a game-show host". Then they asked for one that was even more "nerdy" than my first reading (I think the word the guy actually used was "weasely").

I felt like I responded to the directions pretty well (Though I think I could have done a better "game show host" reading). At the end, the casting guy told me the shoot would be next Thursday (Whether it really meant anything or not, I was encouraged by that, since it seemed to imply I was still in the running).

Haven't heard anything yet, but I'm only going kinda crazy; At one point, I had to remind myself that it took three days to find out I'd gotten the callback, and I've only been waiting two days at this point (I don't really know what to expect, but I'm going to assume there's hope right up through next Wednesday).

It's a non-union spot, so if I get it, the money is not going to be life-changing, but even minus JS's commision, it would be about a month's pay at the bookstore.

(Not too shabby for a day's work...)

After the Rugrats callback, I had to go over to Westside Casting.

This one was for Sony Videogames, and it was kind of cool, a very rare "dramatic" outing for Yours Truly.

I was playing the President of Algeria (!), whose country had been overthrown by a revolutionary (A revolutionary who, in a nice twist, just happens to have been my closest childhood friend).

The scenario is that I've been captured, and am tied to a chair in an "interrogation room". I've been beaten, my teeth are knocked out, I have a collapsed lung, and basically, I'm really messed-up.

My "friend" says something like "You are finished, but it's possible you might still be of some use to your country...".

My defiant response? "I will not cooperate with terrorists...".

They had me do it once. The director complimented my intensity, and asked me to do it again, but through even more pain.

I was happy with what I'd done, and when we finished the director said "You take direction very well", which made me happier still.

This was a union thing, so if I got it, I'd actually make quite a bit more money doing that single line than the Rugrats spot where I'm the "lead".

I'm assuming at this point that the Yahoo thing isn't happening--they asked for my "availability" from the 29th through tomorrow, and there was no call from JS today--but I haven't completely given up on it; Maybe they still haven't decided on a date for the shoot. Maybe it's gotten pushed back, and I could still get a call. One can hope.

But anyway...I was thinking earlier today about what a fun month April was. I hope I'll have as many opportunities this month...and maybe an actual booking or two to boot!

Whether anything comes of all this or not, it felt like a very successful month for me. I had 14 auditions, two of which were callbacks, and I was put "on hold" for Yahoo. I'd like to book something, of course, but even if I don't, it seems evident that it's just a matter of time.

In other exciting news, it looks like I'm going to be going back to Lansing in September!

Tom K. is going to "donate" some of his frequent flier miles for the cause, so I can go back and attend Jane's daughter Emily's wedding.

I'm excited about it--I had no idea when I was going to be able to go back and visit under my own steam--but I also feel a little...nervous.

When we discussed this, I told Jane that I'd have to bail if something big came up out here around that time.

And the idea of going back to Lansing ahead of schedule makes me wish "something big" would come up out here; I'd like to have at least one piece of big time success under my belt before going back to Lansing. I don't need to be "The Conquering Hero"--though that would be nice--but I'd just like to have something to show for the past two years.

Well, there's loads more to say, but I'm getting anxious to see how my scanner is working...

 

previous - next

0 comments so far
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!