Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:24 am - Fri 2/8/02
Just another Thursday in paradise...
Mon 2/4/02 11:10 am (Offline)

Just got off the phone with Dr Strom's office (The gastroenterologist). I thought I should check to see if I passed my stool sample test, but they don't know anything yet (I sort of assumed the procedure would be to let me know if there was a problem, and indeed, that's the case, so I'm going to assume things are good until I hear otherwise).

I'm starting to think my "morning sickness" is a thing of the past. Let's hope so, anyway!

(From the "book journal")

Wed 2/06/02

(At the bookstore, a half-hour from checking in.)

Took my bike to the shop today (Got there around 20 after 11:00). It closes at 7 pm, so there shouldn't be any problem picking it up during my dinner break tonite.

Anyway...

I've been at the store since around noon. I ate at the cafe, and looked through some plays and screenplays, looking for scenes.

I didn't come up with much--nothing in the Horton Foote collection, though I liked the style of writing--but there was a scene from a play called "Blue Surge" that I got a kick out of (A scene between a not-very-good vice cop and his girlfriend).

In screenplays, I looked at "Ghost World," then leafed through "House of Games" (Which was a movie Beth N. particularly liked).

This is kind of hard for me, looking for scenes. I've never really had to do it before, and it feels COMPLICATED; You have to find something you "respond" to, something you're "appropriate" for, something with just two people, something not too "proppy" or elaborately staged...and there was something else that poses a challenge, but I forget what it was (P.S. I think I remember what it was--You have to find something that is interesting and involving, but probably not TOO intense, same as a monologue).

The "House of Games" scene I like a lot is the big confrontation between Lindsey Crouse and Joe Montegna's character towards the end (After she's discovered that she's been conned and confronts him).

Emotionally, I could pull the scene off, but I don't think I LOOK like a con-man (Joe Montegna is more conventionally handsome than I am), and it requires props (At least a gun). But it's the type of scene--ONE type of scene, anyway--I'd enjoy doing.

I have to sit down with myself and figure out, best I'm able, how I might be perceived as a "type", and what's within that range that I could enjoy doing.

(END)

Yesterday...failed to satisfy.

I've been very tired lately, and yesterday continued the streak.

I looked on Backstage West for plays, but there wasn't anything (And thinking about it now, I'm not completely happy with myself--If there wasn't anything in terms of plays, I should have at least sent some things out to agents, or casting directors. But I WILL do that today).

I DID finish reading "Acting As A Business". I felt good about that on two levels--I was happy that I accomplished SOMETHING in terms of acting stuff yesterday, and I was happy to finish it so I could start reading a "real book" (It's obviously important that I read acting things out here, but it's ALSO important that I read OTHER things. So I recently decided that, at the very least, I want to ALTERNATE what I'm reading. You have to have something to "fill yourself up", if you know what I mean).

I watched "Regis and Kelly"--She is so CUTE!--and "The View" (Once again, they were annoyingly LOUD, to the point where I'm starting to wonder if I NEED this show in my life).

I messed about on the computer. I think I might have tried to nap for a bit (Oh, I also spent some time putting my new tail light on my bike; I bought it when my recent trip to the bike shop ended up costing me less than I feared).

In the early afternoon, I washed up a little, then went out on my bike, with the vague intention of riding in the direction of Sunset and LaBrea, where there's SUPPOSED to be a theater that's playing "Monster's Ball" (That was where Mike, from work, THOUGHT he'd seen the movie).

For some reason, I ended up going down Vermont--I guess I thought the movie might be playing at the Los Feliz 3--and there were not one, but TWO shoots going on along that street (One was a commercial for Del Taco, the other was for a movie; I was actually chased off from the place I was going to park at one point by one of the movie people. I was both annoyed, and a little depressed--Not only am I NOT being an actor, I'm being chased off by the people who ARE really doing something). I thought briefly about seeing "I Am Sam", but decided against it.

I started riding down Sunset, sometimes on the street, sometimes on the sidewalk, but if there's a theater around Sunset and LaBrea, I missed it. So then I rode down LaBrea, I think, to Melrose, then started down Melrose (I think I wanted to see if something else was playing at the theater just off Melrose, where I saw "Amelie").

While I was riding along Melrose, I stopped at a comic book place. I wanted to see if the second issue of the "Dark Knight" sequel was in (I didn't see it, and couldn't bring myself to ask the clerk, since I just wanted to READ it and had no intention of actually BUYING it, since we'll be getting it at the bookstore sometime soon anyway).

The Groundlings--an improv comedy group--is on Melrose, so I stopped there, and when I didn't see anything with a phone number on the outside windows, I walked in and asked for info.

They have auditions for their classes on Thursday and Saturdays. I guess what they do is basically put you through the paces of what would be a beginning class, and see if you've got what they want in a comic actor-type person.

As I rode away, I remember very distinctly thinking, "THIS would be a good 'feel the fear and do it anyway' thing to do"; It would be scary for me, but definitely worth doing, and beyond the fear of rejection (Or, in the case of finding money for classes, the fear of being ACCEPTED), there's no downside at all to TRYING it. If I got in, that would be pretty cool; It would be good stuff for me to learn, good stuff to have on a resume, good for making connections and becoming part of a "performing community", and who knows? I might even end up in the company--Stranger things have happened.

(Further down Melrose, I also passsed Second City, and wrote their number down.)

I rode down Melrose, to La Cienega, the went down LaCienega to Wilshire. There's a theater on Wishire, just past La Cienega, and another theater a couple blocks past that, but neither of them was playing anything I was interested in, so, since my butt was starting to hurt from all the bike riding anyway, I decided to just head home.

On the way, I stopped at Burger King--which seems to be my "craving du jour" these days--and had a sourdough bacon cheeseburger and fries, as I read "The Shipping News" (And from the description of "Quoyle" in the book, physically and otherwise, Kevin Spacey is the very LAST actor I'd imagine in the role).

In the evening, I found myself starting to get a little depressed and lonesome. It had felt like nothing had really HAPPENED during the day, and I started wishing I had someone to TALK to, but I couldn't really figure out who to call or what I was so anxious to talk about (And with the time difference between here and Michigan, I'm always having my urges to talk when it would be very LATE there).

So I spent the evening mostly watching tv (I've started watching "CSI", which is really GOOD. I also thought "ER" was especially gripping).

Today, I haven't done much of anything as of yet. Have been watching tv (Did I mention already that Kelly Ripa is really CUTE?), had a little breakfast (A yogurt and a cup of coffee. I'm a little short of food right now), and am trying to figure out what to do with my day that will make me feel good.

It's probably time to do a little "career advancement" stuff. See ya later...

Oh, one last thought--I feel like I update in here so often that it probably isn't a big necessity, but is there any interest out there in my setting up a "notify" list? If so, let me know, and I will make it so.

 

previous - next

0 comments so far
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!