Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:35 am - Wed 2/06/02
In my cafe, you come around the counter, make the drink yourself, then give me a generous tip
On Sunday, I got myself together early enough to stop at the bike shop before work. I was hoping they'd fix my bike in time for me to pick it up later that evening, or at least the next day.

But turned out they were not taking new "work orders", or whatever, until today; If I brought my bike in by 11:30 today, I was told, it would be done that day (I don't remember how late the place is open, so I don't know if I'll be able to pick it up at my dinner break, or if I'll have to wait till tomorrow morning). So anyway, I'm going in early today to do that.

Yesterday, I was feeling pretty down. I'd had an especially ragged night's sleep, then came in and saw I had an evening hour in the cafe. I was also kind of bummed about having my Wednesday morning "shot" because I had to go in early to do the bike thing.

But I got through the day fine, the hour in the cafe was kind of, almost--dare I say it?--FUN, and it struck me at some point that having to go in early to "do the bike thing" meant I could do something I haven't gotten around to up till now, which is to hang out at work, and maybe read a play or something (As the day wound down, I also had the happy feeling of knowing "my stories"--"Buffy", "NYPD Blue", and "Philly"--would be waiting for me when I got home).

The cafe "fun" started when a young man came up and wanted a cappucino.

I started to go into my routine--"I'm just a poor, misunderstood bookstore clerk, trapped behind this cafe counter..."--then he offered to make it himself, since he knew how.

Now this is a REAL no-no--Even other Borders employees aren't supposed to go behind the cafe counter if they aren't working there--but I figured, since he was willing to DO it (ANXIOUS to do it, actually), why not? After all, it wasn't like he was going to get what he wanted from ME.

So, after I warned him that he might have to make a quick break for it if I saw a manager, he scooted behind the counter, and made his cappucino, instructing me as he went.

And for the privilige of making his own drink, and giving instructions in the process, he gave ME a $2 tip!

But then I was kind of "screwed"; Right as "Nice Cappucino Boy" was paying for his drink, someone came up behind him, and since HE had a tasty, hot beverage, assumed SHE was free to order a tasty, hot beverage as well. Where did she think she WAS, anyway? A CAFE?

So I fumbled my way through a hot cocoa, since I couldn't very well have EVERY customer come behind the counter to make their own (It was not that big a deal actually, once I realized that if you fill the little pitcher to the brim with milk, there's nowhere for things to go when the milk kind of "fluffs up" from the steaming process. It's also a good idea to NOT pull the milk away from the steamer thingie while the steamer thingie is still ON, or else you get splattered with 140-degree milk).

So now if you want a cappucino, or a hot cocoa, I'm your guy (And if I splatter myself with 140-degree milk in the process, there's no extra charge for the slapstick comedy).

Before the cafe, while I was at lunch, I asked John O. if he could "clarify the policy" on dating within the company.

Basically, you can make a lateral move, asking out a fellow employee, and you can even make a move UP--though I think he implied that was a LITTLE dicier--but you can't make a move DOWN (He can't ask out Devin, for example, much to his apparent regret).

Why did I want to know this information, you ask?

Because I kind of like Lori, one of the "Big 4" managers (Along with Padric, John O., and Michael C.). And while I don't know if I'm going to DO anything about it, it's nice to know that if I CHOOSE to, there won't be any messy legal ramifications.

But as much fun as this has been--and I'm feeling like I wouldn't mind spending the next couple hours doing this. I'm feeling pretty "chatty" right now--I've got to get my bi-cycle to the shop (I don't want to be without my bike over my upcoming "weekend").

 

previous - next

0 comments so far
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!