Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:45 pm - Tues 9/23/03
Our Top Stories This Hour...

Our Top Stories This Hour...

On the way home from work last night, riding my bike along Wilshire, I saw a very odd sight; On the corner of Wilshire and Van Ness, in front of the Hankook Medical building, were 11 white rabbits, just hanging around, snacking on the grass next to the sidewalk.

It wasn't the first time I've come upon a sight here in LA and thought, "Am I seeing what I think I'm seeing...?". Which, truth to tell, is one of my favorite things about living in LA; I really like the idea that, at any time, something might happen to make me say, "Am I seeing what I think I'm seeing...?".

I sort of "hung out" for a moment, watching the rabbits (There were more than I realized at first), and trying to figure out exactly what the deal was. I assumed they were furry little test subjects--What else could they have been?--but I didn't see any open cages, and near as I could tell, the building hadn't been broken into.

And if it was some "Animal Liberation Front"-kind of action, it was pretty half-assed. They really should have had a truck or something and taken the bunnies with them, because they weren't exactly making "The Great Escape" as I watched; They seemed quite content to stay near the building, and even when I was pretty much right on top of them, all they did was hop across the street on Van Ness, then continue their grassy repast on the other side.

When I got home, I called the police. They tried to connect me to their animal control people, but no one answered, so the person I talked to initially said that she'd keep trying, and thanked me for my time.

I felt sort of bad, that there wasn't more I could do, but really, I don't know what other options I thought I had; I was riding my bike for one thing, and for the other, if these were little medical test bunnies, who knows what sort of plague they'd been infected with?

Anyway, this definitely felt like a good addition to the "weird shit I've seen in LA" list.

_________________________

Just got something seriously cool in the mail--My tape of the HBO commercial!!!

I've still got no guarantees or set dates here, but this likely means the commercial has started to air, or will be airing very soon.

It's on a special tape, so I've got to get it dubbed to VHS so I can actually see it myself. After that, it's just a matter of figuring out where to get some cheap copies made and what to do with them.

And I think I'm going to celebrate this happy turn of events by taking a nap before work.

Nighty-nite...

 

previous - next

1 comments so far
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!