Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:27 pm - 12.09.2008
Twas The Night Before Surgery (I Hope!)

Twas The Night Before Surgery (I Hope!)

(Editor's Note: I actually wrote this around 10:30 Tuesday night. But it's not posting for some reason, so - hopefully - I'll end up posting it tomorrow, after my successful surgery.)

As always, haven't given myself much time to do this. But anyway...

I've been sick since Thursday, and have been afraid it would mean having to postpone tomorrow's hernia surgery.

And last night was pretty miserable - my eyes were watering, my nose was running, I had a blinding headache, and to top things off, I had a pretty forceful bout of vomiting - but today, much to my surprise, I feel pretty okay, and am breathing through my nose about as well as I ever do.

So I'm hoping Doctor F. will agree with my diagnosis that tomorrow's surgery can proceed; it wouldn't be the end of the world if it had to be postponed...but it would be a significant pain-in-the-ass

I've tried to "get all my ducks in a row" - I booked out with my various agents and managers, got someone to work my next two Weight Watchers meetings, parked my car such that I don't have to move it again till Friday morning, made a copy of my will and "Power Of Attorney" for Cary, grocery shopped earlier to make sure I was well-stocked, etc. - but I can't shake the feeling that I've missed something.

But what?

Whatever I've "missed", I just want to get this done.

Intially, I found it depressing that the year was "ending on a down note", but it is what it is.

And really, there are bright spots - I have insurance, this is happening at a traditionally slow time (For auditions, and for Weight Watchers), and I'm in-all-likelihood done with hernias at this point - so instead of thinking of 2008 "ending on a down note", I should be thinking of this as "getting ready for 2009", where I will emerge a slim, baby-faced, hernia-free, acting/money-making machine.

And on that happy note, I better get to bed - Cary's picking me up at 5:45 in the a.m. !

 

previous - next

0 comments so far
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!