Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:08 pm - Tues 1/13/04
Vague Memories and Silly Fantasies

Vague Memories and Silly Fantasies

I was just thinking about something...

When I was seven or eight years old, I was bitten by a dog.

The way I remember it, I was walking to school, minding my own business, and the dog--a German Shepard--just ran up, jumped on me, and bit me in the head.

For years afterwards, I was terrified of strange dogs. I would cross the street to avoid contact with even the most harmless-looking animal (This fear stayed with me till early adulthood).

As I got older, and would tell the story, I would exaggerate what happened for comic effect--"...and there I was, running down the street, screaming, with the dog still hanging on, swinging from my forehead..."--but what struck me just now, thinking about the story, was that I don't remember anything about the incident beyond "I was bitten by a dog"; I don't remember if I went on to school or ran home, I don't remember any medical attention, I don't remember if it was a dog I knew or not, etc.

In fact, I remember so little about the incident, I'm now left wondering if it actually happened at all.

________________________

On two seperate occasions recently, I've found myself thinking about "Ayds".

Years before Slimfast, and long before Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome, there was a company that made dietetic candies called "AYDS".

My memory of what they actually were like is pretty vague--I remember they were chocolate-flavored, and I think they might have been chewy, like Tootsie Rolls--but they were basically low calorie sweets that would supposedly blunt your cravings for more fattening fare.

I don't know what prompted my thinking about this, but it might have been watching Angels In America. When I saw the movie, I found myself thinking about my own first memories of AIDS--reading about "Kaposi's Sarcoma" (sp?), and the spread of a "gay cancer" which eventually was given a name--Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome.

AIDS.

In the time since, while I haven't lost any friends to AIDS, I've known a number of people who have died of the disease.

But back then, I didn't know any gay people. The worst thing I remember thinking early on was "Wow, that's a bad break for those diet candy people...".

_________________________

Yesterday, while at work, I thought it would be funny to write an imaginary journal entry about having sex with Britney Spears--The disappointment (On both our parts), the awkwardness afterwards (What would we possibly have to say to each other?), etc and so on.

I bogged down when I couldn't figure out how we'd be in a position to meet in the first place.

I've been thinking about her a lot lately, every since watching her interview with Diane Sawyer on ABC some time back.

Listening to the interview, I was mostly struck by what a kid she was. Often, she sounded "22 going on 15", if you follow me.

I felt sympathetic towards her, I thought she seemed like a nice enough person, but suddenly, the idea of having sexual fantasies about her seemed pretty ridiculous.

I may fantasize about young hardbodies, but then when I hear them talk, I realize, in reality, I want a capital-W "Woman".

 

previous - next

2 comments so far
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!