Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:53 am - FRI 3/21/03
What's YOUR \"Personal Velocity\"?

What's YOUR "Personal Velocity"?

FRI 3/21/03 2:20 am

I really like Parker Posey. She's smart and funny, and I've never seen her be bad in anything (I'm always really impressed by that. To be really good every time out of the gate, in all these different circumstances, with different scripts, and different directors, and different actors, just dazzles me).

And she's really pretty. I hope I get to meet her sometime (And by "meet her", I don't mean I want to sell her a book at Borders!).

Just finished watching Personal Velocity, a film with her, Kyra Sedgewick, and Fairuza Balk, in three seperate, unconnected stories. They all play characters in some state of transition, and while I enjoyed the movie--I certainly wasn't bored--Ultimately, I found it unsatisfying, because I wanted to know more; I would rather have seen a full-length movie about any one of these characters (Particularly Parker Posey's "Greta") than see three stories that basically felt...incomplete. At the end of each vignette, I felt like, "That's it?".

Earlier I watched Roger Dodger, a movie with Campbell Scott (It was something I wanted to see when it came out this past year, but I missed it. And apparently, so did the rest of the moviegoing public; I was surprised it came out on video as quickly as it did).

Scott plays the title character, an advertising copywriter who is the quintessential "ladies man".

His nephew Nick comes to visit him, to learn "the tricks of the trade", as it were, so they spend a night on the town, with the idea that Nick will lose his virginity at evening's end.

It's advertised on the video box as a "comedy", and from the description I've just given, you can imagine the sex-comedy framework--Smart guy sees women as conquests, gets his comeuppance, and changes his evil ways--but I didn't find it funny. It felt more like a tragedy to me, in spite of the tacked-on "happy ending" (If this was a comedy, it was a very black one. And I've noticed before that when it comes to "black comedy", I tend to pick up on the blackness, and miss the "comedy" part).

I thought Campbell Scott was amazing, but nobody saw this movie, and the Academy doesn't give awards out to movies nobody saw. But this was one of the smartest, funniest, saddest, angriest characters I've seen in a movie in a long time. As an actor, it's the kind of thing I'd like to get a crack at. Pretty juicy stuff.

________________________________________________

(And speaking of my being an actor...)

Now that I know how to do the "link thing"--Thanks again, Lauren!--I thought I'd let you guys see what my resume looks like on the L.A. Casting website.

________________________________________________

I finally got my headshot to Breakdown Services today.

I could have just drove---according to Mapquest, it's something like 11 or 12 miles away--but I opted to ride my bike, for a second day of "Seeing L.A. by Bicycle".

And it was fun. The longest part of the trip was riding down Venice, and that's a nice ride; The bike lane is clearly marked, it's a long, flat expanse (At least as far as I went), and the weather was, once again, perfect today. It made me feel like going all the way down to the beach on a day off sometime would not be as big a deal as I'd thought.

My actual time at Breakdown Services was very short; The guy at the desk was on the phone, but if he hadn't been, I probably would have been in and out in 60 seconds (As it was, the process took maybe five minutes, if that).

(They kept my headshot, by the way, which sort of surprised me, but I didn't want to be a dick and ask for it back. After all, it's not as if I don't have others...)

Speaking of headshots, I'm on the verge of making a momentous decision here; After noticing that you don't see a lot of big stars with facial hair, and asking JS his opinion on the matter, I'm considering--DUM DUM DUM--- shaving my moustache.

On a personal level, I'm not nuts about the idea--As I told Cary earlier today, I've had a moustache pretty much continuously since I was about ten years old--but if having it limits the way people see me, maybe I need to get over my vanity and lose that puppy! (I was thinking the other day that if I wasn't an actor, I would probably have a shaved head with a goatee right about now. As I keep getting balder and balder, the urge to just say "Hell with it!" keeps getting stronger).

Well, I was going to rattle on a little longer, but I'm fading fast here...

 

previous - next

0 comments so far
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!