Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:28 pm - Sat 5/13/06
Two Wheels And A Couple Of Helping Hands

Two Wheels And A Couple Of Helping Hands

Fri 5/12/06 (11:17 a.m.)

After writing about my stolen bike, and telling anyone who would listen, I�ve received assistance�and offers of assistance�from a number of people.

I thought this was sort of weird...

While doing laundry in the building, I was telling someone about my misfortune, and he said if I wanted, I could borrow his bike till I get a new one�It just needed new tires (He said he�d reimburse me for the purchase).

I told him I�d think about it, but later, when I decided to take him up on the offer (Since at the time, I didn�t know when I�d be getting another bike), I�d forgotten the guy�s apartment number.

So I asked George, the apartment manager, telling him the situation, and he said he had an old bike I could use, �...and it has tires�.

He took me down to the basement, to the storage/utility room, and showed me...my old bike; when the guys at the bike shop told me it wasn�t worth fixing anymore, I�d put it out in the lobby, with a note saying �If you want it, it�s yours�. And I guess he wanted it.

So for the past week, I�ve had my old bike back, the one I threw away something like five months ago (It�s pretty messed-up, but still �ride-able�).

Sort of weird, huh?

In addition to people offering up their bikes as �loaners�, a Diaryland reader (Who has asked to remain nameless) sent me a check, and another recently emailed me, also offering a contribution to the cause.

But happily, it looks like I won�t be needing those charitable contributions, however grateful I am for them, because as they�ve done so many times before, Cary and Kay have offered their assistance as well: Cary read about my plight, told Kay, and Kay said since they have two bikes, seven or eight years old, that they don�t really ride at this point (With a 1 � year old, and Cary working crazy hours at his job), I could have her bike.

(I guess Kay told Cary, �By the time we�re riding bikes again, I�m going to want a new one anyway...�.)

So I�m going to visit them on Sunday, and take a look at the bike in question. And assuming it meets my rigid specifications (i.e. it has pedals and brakes and stuff like that), I�m going to gratefully accept their generous gift.

I just feel more comfortable taking Kay�s old bike than taking other people�s money.

So there you are.

You know something? While I would rather not have had my bike stolen, and I�d rather not be the guy who chronically needs �helping out�, this has been a nice reminder that there are kind, generous people out there.

And more to the point, there are kind, generous people out there who are �in my corner�.

I have a bigger �family� than I realized.

And that�s a good feeling.

 

previous - next

2 comments so far
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!