Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:20 pm - Mon 9/2/02
Am I Awake, or Did I Just Dream I Wrote This Entry?

Am I Awake, Or Did I Just Dream I Wrote This Entry?

In lieu of a day-to-day exciting and/or fulfilling life, I can settle, right now, for a little "acting thing" going on and a little "social thing" to look forward to.

Those things are important, because otherwise my life here breaks down as "Borders" and "not-Borders". In other words, different facets of boredom, pointlessness, and dissatisfaction.

And that's no good.

I told someone at the bookstore that I thought it was interesting--My relative good mood of late really started with quitting Corpus Christi and the Coleman, which is not the way I imagined things going out here. I never imagined being in a position where it would feel better to not be acting.

But now I have my audition Friday to look forward to, and I have high hopes that, if I get it, it's going to be a much happier experience.

I'm not sure exactly what to make of the show, or how to approach the role. There isn't any "arc" or "motivation" or any of that actor-ish stuff to look for; Basically, I'm just going to read it over and over, and try to put myself in a place where each moment feels real to me, however absurd(I'd try to explain this odd little show, but if you aren't familiar with it, it would probably be boring to you, and if you are, it would be redundant. I'll just content myself with saying it's very absurd/surreal, and I've never tackled that kind of material before, so I'm both excited and scared).

Well, I don't know that it's going to do much good, but I'm in "Dead on my feet" Mode here, so I'm going to lay down for a bit before work.

Nitey-nite...

 

previous - next

0 comments so far
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!