Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:47 pm - Sun 1/20/08
Weight Watchers #12

Weight Watchers #12

(6:31 p.m.)

Good weigh-in today - Another 2 lbs lost (And a fun meeting too, about how to deal with our bad habits).

So I�m down to 234.6 lbs, on my way to a �target weight� of 195 lbs (Rapidly approaching the halfway mark; I started at 268.4).

Speaking of the �halfway mark�: I�m supposed to be getting a new �interim� headshot soon - Awhile back, I told JS what I�m doing (To let him know my �look� would be changing, and to get his feedback on the headshot issue), and he suggested getting a single shot when I reached this point, then new shots when I hit my �target� - but to be honest, I don�t want to spend the time or money on it.

But I have to; even if it�s just my head and shoulders in the picture, I don�t have a fat guy�s face anymore, and looking like your headshot is the name of the game (And I know there are places where I can get it done cheap, since I only need to get one decent picture from a session and it�s going to be obsolete within the next four or five months anyway).

Another thing I�m thinking about are clothes (pants in particular).
I don�t quite know how to deal with that; I�m really ready for new clothes - when I cinch my belt tight enough to hold my pants up, the waistband curls over my belt, with (now) excess material bunching up around my waist - but I don�t want to buy new clothes now, only to have to buy another new ensemble when I hit my �target�.

(I know - there are worse problems to have. But it is an �issue�.)

In an effort at cost cutting, I�ve been cutting back on the WW treats I buy at the weekly meeting; when I first started, I was spending $13.50 or more a week, which seemed like a lot to be spending each month on �treats� (Especially since I would buy more �treats� when I�d go to the grocery store; yes, Jim has used �treats� as a crutch to lose weight. But I�m also eating lots of fruits and veggies, and taking my daily vitamins. And on a practical level, it�s hard to argue with something that�s working).

So I started limiting myself to two �treats� - typically the blueberry bars and a box of �honey mustard� or �barbeque� pretzels - which would be $9.00.

Then in the last two weeks, I�ve been just buying the pretzels, at $4.50

And today, for first time since I started, I didn�t buy anything.

It was actually kind of tough. But I was proud of myself.

Then afterwards, I stopped at Ralphs to go grocery shopping, saw they had �Healthy Choice� fudge bars and ice cream sandwiches on sale (3 boxes for $10, which is basically �Buy 2, Get 1 Free�), and spent $20, buying three of each.

(But my heart was in the right place...)

It�s something I need to work on, for mostly financial reasons; I don�t want to assume this year will be less financially rewarding than 2007, but it very well might be. And when I recently thought about what I could cut back on, this was the first thing that came to mind (It�s not even about cutting �treats� out, cause that would actually be counter-productive; it�s just a question of limiting my choices, to two or three instead of five or six).

One woman at today�s meeting hit �Lifetime Member� status.

It made me look forward to the day I�ll be getting my little gold key...


 

previous - next

0 comments so far
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!