Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:15 am - Sun 11/25/07
Weight Watchers #5

Weight Watchers #5

Sat 11/24/07 (9:48 a.m.)

About to go to WW in a few minutes...

Hard to know what to expect, since last week, when I was feeling a little anxious going in, I�d actually lost 3.4 lbs.

But I think I�ll do okay today (I�d just like it to be 2 lbs or more).

I didn�t count points on Thanksgiving, though I did write down everything I�d eaten, and could have calculated the points later (But by then, what would have been the point?).

And it wasn�t about wanting to pig out or anything, cause I didn�t (and hadn�t planned to); I just don�t want other people involved in this, beyond my telling them I�m doing it, or you reading about it here in Diaryland.

I�m not comfortable yet being the guy that calls beforehand - �And what exactly will you be serving for Thanksgiving...?� - or who gets his little �points book� out while sitting at the table (�Okay, a pat of butter is one point, a tablespoonful of gravy is another point...�). Cause in my mind, that turns it from something I�m doing into something I�m kind of forcing on you (As if you need to cater to my needs, or should feel guilty if you make something fattening), and that�s no good.

But anyway...

(4:32 p.m.)

Well, the WW weigh-in was happy news indeed; I'm down to 248.6 lbs.

That means I lost another 4.4 lbs, for a total of 19.8 lbs since I started.

I�m rapidly closing in on my 10% goal of 26 lbs; if things continue as they have, I should get there over the next two weeks.

After that, it�s basically up to me to set the �target goal� I want; if I wanted to, for example, I could make losing 26 lbs my �target� (Though I�m not going to do that, since that would be simply a downgrade - or would that be an "upgrade"?- from �obese� to �overweight�. And that�s not good enough).

I�ve had 200 lbs in my head for the longest time as the weight I'd like to be at(And that�s not far off from my officially �appropriate� weight of 195 lbs).

But numbers aside, I just want to lose however much it takes for me not to have a gut anymore.

I used to be a skinny guy, but that was a long time ago; now I've spent half my life sucking in my gut...and I don't like it.

I want to spend the remainder of my life not having anything to suck in.

I've been "Skinny Jim" and I've been "Fat Jim", but I've never been "Just Right Jim" - if I was, for a week or two there, I missed it - and that's what we're going for here.
(END)

I've been up since around 4:30, so as long as I'm here, I thought I'd expand on this entry.

One thing you might be kinda/sorta/semi interested in; last week, I took a flyer home from the WW meeting, about working for Weight Watchers.

I've now been to a half-dozen meetings and watched the "Leaders" do their thing, and I think it's something I could do (Basically being a "motivational speaker"). Something I might actually enjoy, and certainly something worthwhile.

It would also be great motivation to keep the weight off; to lead meetings, you have to reach your target weight, keep it off for X amount of time (I forget exactly how long - six weeks, maybe?), then stay within 10% of that weight.

I don't know any details at this point - what they pay, benefits, etc. - and since I'm only about a third of the way to my "target", I feel like I'm getting a bit "ahead of myself" here.

But it's something I'm thinking about.

But right now, I'm going to think about going back to bed...

 

previous - next

0 comments so far
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!