Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:01 am - Mon 6/19/06
Battlestar Jimlandia

Battlestar Jimlandia

Sun 6/18/06 (8:00 p.m.)

(Listening to Layla...)

Vaguely embarrassed about my last entry, but what are ya gonna do?

I received a couple more calls from people at work this past week (From Casey and Howard, to be specific), which was nice.

(I particularly like Casey. He�s just a good guy. I�m hoping we�ll have occasion to become friends outside of work.)

But beyond that, it�s been a somewhat lonesome week. I feel like a lot of people are going back into the woodwork again now that they�ve contacted me and I�m �okay�. It�s understandable, but there�s a part of me that wants to go �Guys?...I�m going to be recuperating for weeks, so I might still need to get an occasional phone call or email or something, so as not to go crazy�.

But as I get to feeling better, I�m going to just out-and-out harass some people here in town to �hang out with me� in the next couple weeks. I�ll need the �people contact�, and I also need to just have an excuse to �get out��Left to my own devices, without a specific �task� to accomplish, I have a hard time getting myself out the door (Though I guess you could say I have a �specific task� to accomplish pretty much every day now, which is to build my strength back up).

And actually, in terms of �getting exercise�, I started going for walks within a day or two after getting home�Around the block, to the drugstore, and more recently, to the bank (Yesterday), and the grocery store (Today. That was maybe a bit much to be taking on at this point, but it�s hard to know you�re over-extending yourself till you over-extend yourself. But really, it was fine�I was just pretty wiped out afterwards).

I�m afraid this entry is sounding a bit �poor me�-ish, but I hope it isn�t, cause that�s not really how I�ve felt this past week. Yes, I�ve had moments here and there of lonely stir-craziness, but there�s also just the fact that I do feel somewhat debilitated, and have needed, and been grateful for, the physical/emotional rest I�ve been able to get this week.

(Point of fact, it hit me today, as it sometimes does on a day off from work, that if you added some acting to the mix, and a couple opportunities for socializing with others, I�d really be up for a life that came complete with a lot of �down time� like this.)

And thanks to Cary, I�ve got a load of dvds to watch from his collection (And watching dvds is something I really enjoy, �post-op� or not).

He�s given me some really good stuff�movies like The Lion In Winter and My Favorite Year, and tv box sets like Homicide and Northern Exposure�but the real gem, for me, is the first season-and-a-half of the new Battlestar Galactica.

(The complete first season is one box set. The next set is the first half of the second season�they�ve �on hiatus� right now, and I think Cary said they�ll be starting up again in the fall. But anyway...)

It�s a show I�ve read nothing but amazing things about, and I�ve had a sense that it might not just be the kind of show I�d enjoy watching, but a show where there might be a place for me as an actor as well (And as you know, if you�ve been following along in here, I�m sort of looking for that. Shows where, as I watch, I think �I could see myself in this world...�

And it definitely lived up to my expectations�Very dark, exciting, complex, and thought-provoking�and in terms of it being a �world I could fit into�...well, the series regulars are, for the most part, either too young and good-looking, or too old for me to play...yet, but there have been some co-star/guest-star roles that left me thinking �I wouldn�t have looked out-of-place doing that...�.

Anyway, I enjoyed it very much (But for some reason, I�m thinking it shoots in Vancouver, which would suck�If something shoots in Vancouver, that�s where most of the casting is going to happen. But anyway...)

Well, I could go on, but I�ll save it for next time...

 

previous - next

2 comments so far
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!