Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:14 pm - Fri 2/29/08
Once More Into The Breech

Once More Into The Breech

Fri 2/29/08 (1:24 p.m.)

(Watching the end of Road House, a movie I�ve cited a number of times as �my favorite bad movie�. Well, I don�t know if it�s really a �bad movie�, or just a �junk movie� - well done, but with no nutritional value - all I know is I�ve lost count of how many times I�ve seen it. Anyway...)

The big news from here is that I will be doing reshoots for the AT&T commercial on Monday (JS confirmed it in an email yesterday).

This is becoming a �be careful what you wish for� kind-of-thing; I wanted to book a commercial...and now here it is (I should have been more specific - �...and I want to be able to do whatever�s required in the spot without fear of accident or injury, and to make it to the end of the shoot in no worse shape than when I started...�).

Everyone I�ve mentioned �re-shoots� to wants to know if they�re re-shooting everything, or just some given shots, or what.

And the answer is �I don�t know�. It would be nice to know - was all of Monday a wash, or are we just talking about one or two quick pick-ups, or what? - but I don�t know.

Moxie (The production company) hasn�t called me with a call time yet, but I�m assuming it�s going to be early again (If not, that would indicate they�re not planning on it being another marathon day. That would be cool...but I�m not planning on being that lucky).

The backs of my thighs, and especially my groinal region, are still hurting, which, considering it�s Friday and the shoot was on Monday, is a point of pretty profound concern; if I go in on Monday in worse shape than last Monday, and it�s pretty much the same kind of day...well, I don�t know what happens then.

But what�s working in my favor...?

I was able to finagle and get Sunday off, so I�ll have the day before to rest and relax and think healthy, healing, �I�ll-be-able-to-make-it-through-one-more-day-of-this-shoot� thoughts.

And now I know just how long it should take me to get there, and exactly where it is, so there should be minimal stress-and-strain in that department.

And now that I have a sense of things, I�ll be better able to �pace myself� (for example, anything where we�re supposed to be running as a �herd� means �Don�t run full out, just look as if you�re running full-out�).

And now that we�re far into things, I might be in a little better position to ask the on-set medical person �Is there anything we can do we can do to help insure I�ll get through this without hurting myself/hurting myself worse than I have?� (At this juncture, I would not be completely averse to performance enhancing drugs).

Anyway, if those of you of a religious bent would say a little prayer for me, I�d appreciate it.

This is what I want from Monday:

1. I want to be able to execute whatever they want me to execute.
2. I don�t want to be injured (By falling down or pulling anything)..
A. Because I want to make it to the finished commercial.
B. Because I want to be able to audition for other things after I�ve finished this thing.
3. And it would be nice if it were a short day.

____________________

Had my follow up appointment with Dr Alessi, my ENT guy, on Wednesday.

The results of my sleep study were thus:

On my back, I basically didn�t breathe.

On my side, I �woke up� about every two minutes.

The longest time I stopped breathing was for 45 seconds (Or did he say 47 seconds...? I�m not sure now. I just remember it seemed like a long time not to be breathing).

He said I needed to do CPAP - with a full face mask, since I don�t breath through my nose so good - till we do the other stuff we�re contemplating doing (A septoplasty, somnaplasty, and a possible �nasal reconstruction�, where he�d build up the inside of my nose, which I guess needs some shoring up, with cartilage from my ears).

But more on these possible developments as they develop (In all likelihood, I�m only going to be doing the first two, and passing�at least for now-on the third, because insurance only pays for the first two procedures).

____________________

A couple days ago, my computer started doing it�s crazy willy-nilly scrolling act again.

I called Dell support, and long story short, they scrubbed my computer clean (Since they thought the problem was a virus).

Which meant losing all the stuff on my computer (Nothing terribly critical, I don�t think - mostly just a lot of dirty pictures, and some �Offline Diaryland� entries that either ended up online anyway, or were deemed too �boring� to share with you). But it left me bummed out nevertheless.

(I had a lot of really nice dirty pictures...)

Since my warranty expired years ago, I had to pay them $39 for the service.

Well, it seems clear I did have a virus (Or viruses), because my system has been moving pretty slowly for awhile, and after they did what they did, it �perked things up� quite a bit.

But it didn�t actually fix the problem I called them about; it�s calmed down for now (Hence, my ability to do this), but it�s still periodically doing little tricks, whether I�m in Wordperfect, or online, indicating the problem is hardware, not software, and I�ll have to do what I didn�t want to do in the first place, which is to take the tower into Best Buy or someplace and be without the Internet for God knows how long (I�m not going to do that, however, till I absolutely have to).

But one nice thing in the midst of a situation that�s left me feeling somewhat depressed, helpless, frustrated, et al.: I was happy I figured out, all by my lonesome, what to do about my lost printer driver; after much fruitless effort, I went to the Brother website (I have a Brother MFC 7820N 5-In-1), and after downloading two or three of the wrong things, managed to download the free software package that did the trick, and turned what had been a big paperweight back into a printer again.

And on that note of triumph, I think it�s officially nap-time.

 

previous - next

2 comments so far
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!