Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:03 pm - Sat 5/11/02
Appealing to a broad demographic
FRI 5/10/02 3:00 pm (Offline)

Thinking about a number of different things. But since I likely haven't given myself enough time to get to all of them right now, I'll just have to move fast, and hit what I can...

I feel good about what's happened so far today.

I went to Cenex this morning, and got a new picture taken (Should have done it on Wednesday, but "better late than never"). I needed the update, since my recent de-bearding; Now I can get back into the "extra" business, which means checking their telephone casting line for jobs before each of my two days off every week (If I'm going to be at Borders for a time yet, I'm going to need extra income, and I'd rather do extra work than get another part-time job, or temp in an office).

(I was happily surprised when the guy taking my picture waved me off as I reached into my wallet for the $10 fee.)

When I got back home, I finished my letter to Michelle Frazier at Warner Brothers (Shannon Ryan, Chris's contact, wouldn't actually have anything to do with my initial hiring; Basically, her department "borrows" tour guides from the Human Resources division, which is where Michelle comes in). I'd been working on the letter before I left for Cenex, but ran short of time--I wanted to make sure I did as good a job as I could with it--and then ran into another snag when I was getting bad copies from my printer, but couldn't remember how to do the "head cleaning" that corrected the problem last time (When I got back, I found my printer manual, cleaned the print heads a couple times, and made a good copy of the letter. Then since I'd missed the mail, I walked a couple blocks to the post office on 6th, and sent it out).

I always want to second-guess myself about this sort of thing--Did I say too much? Did I say too little? Did I proofread it well enough that there weren't any mistakes?--but I felt pretty good when I put it in the mailbox. I felt like I was taking at least tentative steps towards improving my station out here.

(Well, I got to even less than I thought I would...I'm driving to work today--so I can drop John O. off at his place after work, and pick up the new computer!--and I don't really remember how long it takes to get to there by car, so I want to still get something of an early start.)

(END)

I guess today's big news is that I have my "new" computer!

It's a Sony Vaio. It's gray, with a monitor about the same size as what I currently have (14"), but the speakers are part of the monitor, and not seperate components like the Aptiva.

(I put it in the trunk last night, since I didn't expect to get anywhere near my apartment by the time I got home. Then earlier this morning, I moved my car, unloaded everything, and set it up on the floor by my tv. Right now, I'm playing Yellow Submarine, just to hear what it sounds like.)

In terms of hardware, it's a definite improvement on what I have; It's got a 300 mhz Pentium II processor and a 6.1 gig hard drive (The Aptiva, in contrast, has a 200 mhz K6 processor and a 2.1 gig hard drive). It has 64 megs of RAM, which is less than I have on the Aptiva--I think I started with 32, and added 64--but I don't know if that'll have any serious bearing on performance or not (I'll have to ask Cary about that. Maybe the memory will be compatible between the two computers, and we could just transfer it. That would be nice...).

I have no idea how one deals with transferring data between hard drives or any of that, but again, that's where Cary comes in; I told him this was something that was going to happen, and he seemed pretty agreeable to taking a look when the time came, and seeing what was what.

Sweeney, one of my coworkers, overheard about my getting the computer from John O., and wanted to know if he could "buy" my old computer when the time came; I should actually give it to him--"paying it forward," as it were--but aren't sure I'm in a position to look askance at an extra $10 or $20.

ANYWAY...

I was looking over my Diaryland "profile" a couple days ago, as I sometimes do, and discovered someone new has added me to their "Favorites" list--"Cowgirlkym", a 17 year old from Manchester.

Her comment on my journal was officially the coolest thing anyone's said so far about my work in Diaryland--"Writes his diary like his life is a novel. A book that would keep me up till 3 am just so I could finish it"--So of course, I had to immediately go read all of her entries (Which I could do in a single sitting, since she just got started with it). And she seems pretty cool--Smart, funny, not at all "full of herself", someone I think I'd like if I met them in person.

So, it would seem I "appeal to a broad demographic". At least a generation on either side of me.

I like that.

I'm running out of time here. I want to write about "Faithful Reader", and Buffy, and this Thursday's ER, and my upcoming birthday, and a dozen other things, but I got to bed at 2:30 this morning and woke up, as usual, before 7 (And am working the night shift at work tonite), and futile as it might be, I'm feeling a powerful need to recline for a bit before I have to get ready for another evening of retail pleasure.

Peace be with you.

 

previous - next

0 comments so far
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!