Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

5:29 pm - Fri 1/25/08
Heath Ledger

Heath Ledger

I just realized I have a little window of time here, so I thought I'd fill that little window with a little diaryland entry...

In the comments, Mark N. (Hi Mark!) recently asked about my thoughts regarding Heath Ledger.

Like most people, my first reaction to the news was shock. When I saw his picture on CNN, with the caption that he had died, I remembered saying out loud "Oh my God...!".

I hadn't seen many of his films, to be honest. To my recollection, only Monster's Ball, and Brokeback Mountain (10 Things I Hate About You was a big fave amongst my young ArcLight coworkers); I thought he was very good in Monster's Ball, and gave one of the great performances in recent memory in Brokeback; without any histrionics, without anything that seemed like acting for that matter, he broke my heart.

I was pretty skeptical when I heard he was cast as "The Joker" in the next Batman movie, but then I saw the trailer, and now I think it's going to be the performance that Jack Nicholson wishes he'd given in the part.

In the days since his death, I wouldn't say I've been obsessed with the story, but I have been "following it" online.

Of course, you have to wonder about an apparently healthy 28 year old man dying in bed, and all the calls to Mary Kate Olsen from the masseuse who found him, and I'm sure there's going to be a lot of tabloid tales of his "wild ways" to come.

And yeah, if it turns out he od'ed, it changes the story a bit, from "sad and tragic" to "sad and tragic and stupid". But, to me, it doesn't really change things that much: Whatever happened, parents have lost their son, friends have lost a loved one, a little girl has lost her daddy, and the world has lost an actor who seemed to be at the peak of his powers.

But speaking of acting, I have to be heading off to the movie theater...

 

previous - next

0 comments so far
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!